Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I have tried MANY recipes and this one is hands down the best! I live on the N.C./Va. border and people here are really particular about their pork bbq. I have made this on many occasions and always get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I'm giving this only 3 stars since this was too spicy for me. Very easy to do and pork came out nice and moisture, but.......yikes, those red pepper flakes were over the top for me. My boyfriend and his son enjoyed it. Only thing, took 10.5 hours for pork to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Me and my family loved it. It had a kick and was delicious. Had a friend from North Carolina over and he said "I feel like I am back home"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
My family loved this recipe. We did add a good amount of Liquid Smoke and used a little less of the hot spices. It worked for us. Plus, our house smelled good when it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burr Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Super easy and delicious; you cant mess it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This turned out really well for us. I used a pork loin, and rubbed it with liquid smoke as well as hickory smoked salt and pepper, then loosely topped with aluminum foil in the slow cooker while cooking. I was pressed for time, so I cooked this on high for about 4 hours, then low for about 3 1/2 before shredding. Had I had more smoke flavor, this would have reminded me of when my dad dug a pit and slow cooked a pig when I was little. Fall apart tender and delicious. The vinegar smell was noticeable during the day, but not overpowering. Served this on homemade onion rolls with from scratch honey/molasses barbecue sauce for topping. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Loved it! It's hard to find Carolina barbecue in these parts, and this hits the spot. I didn't find the vinegar overwhelming like some. Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Delicious! Always wanted to try Carolina style BBQ. Fell right of the bone. Very tender and flavorful. My kids loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Let me start with I love spicy food. However I followed the driections closely and found it was way too hot. I did add more brown sugar which calmed it down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Woah...this was surprisingly really good. I followed the recipe almost to a "T" (adding a little extra pepper/salt/red pepper flake). As others have stated, as the vinegar heats up the smell is, as hubby puts it, RANCID. I LOVE vinegar flavor but the smell especially warm is pretty bad. However, I did follow the instructions and once I strained the pork and added the spices, the smell was pretty good. The pork turned out moist and flavorful especially the next day. Husband said it was even better after being in the fridge overnight. I'm not a "tarheel" (not even sure of what that is) but this was really tasty and a definite keeper. I wonder what the flavor would be changing up the vinegar for like pomegranate vinegar or um, red wine vinegar? One other small change I made, I let it cook on low for 4 hours then on high for 2 and again on low for 2 during the add spices and such. 12 hours is kinda long and after trimming the fat and such, I'm sure it wound up 5lbs or less (originally 7lbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States