Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This is the best Carolina BBQ I've had in years! I'm so glad that I can finally make it myself. You can't find this kind of BBQ where I live...most restaurants make tomato-based kind. It's super easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was perfect! Love the heat from the cayenne and red pepper flakes. I love vinegar based bbq and this was spot on North Carolina! Loved it will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I bought all the ingredients listed above, added some Liquid Smoke (thanks to another reviewer), cole slaw and large seeded buns and went to town. Holy cow! It wasn't quite Smithfield's or Holy Smokes, but it was as close as I could have hoped and makes me very, very happy! Now I think I need a much larger slow cooker, more pork shoulder, and everything will be all right with the world. Very grateful for this recipe. I'll be using it very often, with Carolina on my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made this for the first time a couple of years ago while living in Virginia. Shared with friends, nothing but rave reviews, and most people say it's better than 99% of store/restaraunt Carolina BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Mind blowing and fantastic!!!! Wow!!!! I wish I could give this more stars than just 5. Did add a little liquid smoke and it was just perfect for our weekend lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
5 stars and I didn't even cook it per recipe. Actually, in my haste, I added all ingredients to slow cooker, got to the end of the recipe and OOPS! Oh, well...it was delicious. I did add the liquid smoke. When I served it, I heated up some Stubbs BBQ Sauce I had in the fridge and mixed it with some of the juices. I can't wait to find another pork shoulder on sale and try this again...according to the recipe. I'm betting it will be a 7 STAR recipe. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
So delicious and moist! I followed some of the reviewers' advice and added 3 tbsp of liquid smoke. I like my Carolina BBQ a little less spicy and only did 1 tsp each of the cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes - just enough for a little kick but not leaving my mouth on fire. This is my new favorite BBQ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Never made pulled pork before & never had Carolina BBQ before. This was easy & family liked it very much served on toasted onion buns & coleslaw. I used some BBQ sauce on the sandwich to add an extra kick. Thanks for the recipe & photo to show how to put it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is delish & being a Carolina girl myself I would recommend a Boston Butt over the shoulder. The shoulder has more fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Tasted great, especially after being in the fridge. Next time I would add the spices for maybe the last hour of cooking and only add half the spices. 4/1/14
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States