Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was amazing with the sweet restaurant slaw recipe from this site! :) I did cut down the spicy ingredients by half, because my husband and son aren't fans of spicy foods, but the flavor was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Easy to make and EXCELLENT taste!!!! I was born and raised in Raleigh, NC and grew up eating Eastern NC BBQ; which does NOT use smoke flavor and is indeed heavy on the vingegar. I now live in Charlotte where the BBQ is quite different-- though still yummy. We have many, MANY regional variations of BBQ in NC and this recipe is definitely eastern NC. This recipe is great and truly tastes like some of the famous eastern bbq places like Bullocks in Durham, NC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Made the house smell but definitely worth it!! I added some diced onion and garlic and 2 tbs liquid smoke. I halved the cayenne pepper. I used a boston butt cut. It was perfect!! My husband said he could even loved it without any sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My kids loved it!!!!! Clean vinegar smell throughout the house while it cooked all day but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I've made this recipe 2 or 3 times and we love it! I grew up on Bullocks in Durham and Wilbur's in Goldsboro - legendary eastern carolina barbecue restaurants. Made it for my parents and they were impressed. I use boneless country style ribs and serve with a coleslaw recipe from this site (Creamy Cole Slaw or something like that. ) both on a bun of course. I did just notice today that you're supposed to add the brown sugar and other ingredients towards the end.....oops. I always put it all in together at the start and it works :) looking forward to having it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Sales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was a great recipe! I may back off of the crushed red pepper a tad next time. Also, not having liquid smoke, I used smoked paprika which worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Best pulled pork I've had and easy to make. I made some modifications due to having a family who does not like "spicy" or strong flavored. I used distilled white vinegar (I know, I know) but the cooking scent and the flavor was more mild. I also left out the cayenne pepper, hot sauce, and crushed red pepper. I used a tad of smokey Hungarian paprika instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was very good NC style pulled pork. If I had spent eight hours tending to a hot smoker, it may have turned out a bit better, but for what it is, it is excellent and so easy. No, the vinegar smell never bothered me or my family at all. I will definitely do it again. David C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David H Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I too am from NC and love the BBQ there. Living in Chicago I have to say they have a lot of unique food here, deep dish pizza and beef sandwiches to name a couple but the BBQ is just imported ST. Louise style. Sweet, heavy sauce that smothers the pork rather than enhancing it like NC 'Q. To get that pig pickin' smoke flavor I added smoked paprika to the rub and let set over night in the fridge. Also used an injector to put about half a cup of the apple cider vinegar into the pork shoulder at that time as well. I thought about putting liquid smoke in that also but decided to wait until the final mix to use it if desired. Just a dash is all it needs in my opinion. Sheer bliss in a very much missed comfort food from my youth. I also bring back a bottle of Texas Pete everytime I visit family back in the old north state. Love, love, LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I cooked it on high for about 7 hours. Also added a little liquid smoke. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States