Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I've made this recipe many times and everybody I've ever made it for compliments me on how good it is! I don't use nearly as much chicken broth as the recipe suggests. I use, maybe 1/2 cup. The pork will usually render out a good amount of liquid while cooking. Once the pork is done, I drain the juices, put them in a pan on the stove and reduce them to about half their original volume to enhance the flavor. I sometimes even add some more of the spices to the broth. I then add that flavor back to the pork. Served with some fresh corn tortillas, pico, cheese and cilantro...Perfection! The leftovers (if there are any) are great for breakfast tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very good, very quick, and super easy- all important parts of recipes in this household! Yummy in a taco shell or over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
We have made this several times now and it just gets better. I double the spices except the cinnamon and start it the night before in the slow cooker, about 8:00pm. Then, before work in the morning, I shred it up in the cooking liquid and let it cook all day in the liquid. Right before serving, I put it in a shallow metal baking pan and "broil" it for 10 or so minutes. This gets that crispy taste on the edges that my husband loves. A squeeze of fresh lime after it comes out of the broiler adds a nice touch. Also, once cooked, the leftovers freeze beautifully in Ziploc bags for more quick easy suppers on busy nights. Could not be a better recipe for busy families! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I know I'm out numbered here, but I could barely eat this "carnitas". This was way too "herby" tasting, I used a smidge of cinnamon because of all the anti-cinnamon comments, I do think that didn't help but it wasn't the demise of this recipe, it was just ewww!! I wasted alot of effort on this, was very disappointing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
The only reason I did not rate this 5 stars was because it needed a little more oomph but it was great. To make it even better, I doubled the spice w/ exception of cinnamon. Used chicken boullion granules instead of broth and doubled that without the water (4 tsp granules & only 2 cups water). After cooking, we reserved some of the broth and warmed the meat in a cast iron skillet with some of the fatty broth. OH MY! By making these changes, we made it 10 stars! Corn and wheat tortillas are the best too. YUM!! This is one of the best recipes I've gotten from this site to date. It has become a regular in my house. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raych04

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
My husband loved this so much! He only stopped eating it when his stomach told him to, then ate the rest for breakfast the next morning. Now he wants to share it with his family who are all transplants here in the east coast from Texas. These words thrilled me to pieces, Thanks for this recipe! Oh....and he said this reminded him of the street carnitas in Mexico which are so good you dont need anything else but a tortilla to put it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bebebubu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I had never heard of carnita up until finding this recipe! I will say I was skeptical of what I thought was a mexican type dish cinnamon in it. BOY, was I wrong! I made used a 6 lb pork shoulder roast and my guys were begging for more! I cannot wait to make this again, along with the homemade pico de gallo. INCREDIBLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This turned out good, not great, but I think next time it will be better with a few small changes. I will leave out any cinnamon and triple the rub. I only doubled the rub, minus the cinnamon, but it needs to be tripled. The cinnamon gives it an almost curry like flavor. I also, threw in a sliced onion and fresh cilantro. I think baking at 400 for 20 minutes is a key step otherwise the pork wouldn't have been the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoitytoitytexan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Delicious, easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This was fantastic! I used a frozen pork shoulder omitted the cinnamon, added fresh garlic and it my hubby raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEAFORTWO001

Displaying results 81-90 (of 850) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States