Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Awesome unique and easy. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I completely revised this recipe. Cinnamon seemed odd because it wouldn't give this type of recipe a smoked, spicy taste. To accomplish my goal I used a combination of 1/4 tsp allspice, doubled the garlic (fresh, minced), and then added 2 tablespoons olive oil and 1.5 tablespoons chipotle powder. I doubled the cumin and kept the salt about the same. I also kept the bay leaves to 2 and doubled the oregano. Finally, I doubled the coriander but decreased the stock. After 6 hours on high I added more stock and turned the meat over. It was a complete hit in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Koganei, Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Very tender and tasty. One batch can be used for many things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very tasty will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlene Tallman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is fabulous as is! I usually make these, then toast a bit to use in homemade tamales or tacos. Go to recipe for me for shredded pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
The first time I made this, I added orange juice to the chicken broth-about 1/2 cup for that traditional tang to the meat. It was delicious and made great "street" tacos with a salsa al fresco of cilantro, tomato and onion; fresh grated cheese-both cheddar and jack-all served on warm corn tortillas. Next time I'm going to try orange slices instead of juice or maybe along with the juice and it's going into tamales. I like the idea of making more spice rub for more flavor. Lauriticus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Excellent as written. Very simple. This is soo good. The key is to crisp it up a bit for a few minutes on broil. And add some fresh pico
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Deliscious! The cinnamon gives it a nice twist, loved it!!! Doubled the spices and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This is the first time that I wanted to give a recipe more than 5 stars and I have 1800+ recipes in this site! I used a pork that's 2.5 lb but reduced the liquid accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I doubled the rub... Came out fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 973) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States