Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This has become a favorite of our family. Simple to make and so so good! My extended family requests it for get-togethers too. Perfection every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina6878

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Great recipe. So tender it was actually difficult to pull out of the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Tasty. Easy. I used a 2 lb hunk of meat on low for 8 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Incredible! Easy to season according to taste in spice. Friends were wowed and the aroma is intoxicating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is delicious. My first time making and it was a hit with everyone and my husband doesn't really care too much for Mexican food. This will definitely be in our rotation now. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Really good recipe. I ended up doubling the spices per others recommendation (except the cinnamon) to give it more flavor and it was perfect. We didn't find it too salty but it didn't take 10 hours to cook. Ours was about 3 pounds and took about 6 hours. We will be making this again. Served it on tortilla shells with red onion, tomato, avocado slice, cilantro and a squeeze of fresh lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! I was a little hesitant because I never cook with cumin or coriander and I wasn't sure I'd like this. I was very pleasantly surprised. I did triple the amount of seasoning to coat the roast as some suggested and I'm glad I did. It was tender and very flavorful. The sauce was amazing. This has now become one of our favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GENTLEWOMAN
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is a very good and simple way to make carnitas. However I did make a few changes. As many other reviewers have said you will need to dbl the spices for a 4 lb roast. I used a clove of fresh garlic and halved the salt, omit the cinnamon (I used it and the unusual flavor it gives throws this off, will omit next time I make this), I did add a dash of smoked paprika. Also rub the roast the day before and allow it to sit overnight. I did turn it over at the halfway point of cooking as the recipe called for and would recommend not skipping this step. Also the leftovers made great pulled pork sandwiches when thrown into the crockpot with some BBQ sauce the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I always use water instead of broth. The seasoning is so flavorful that broth is unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is delish!! I never seem to get going 10 hours before I want to eat --plus I trim the big pieces of fat off and cut the roast into 3-4 pieces to help the spices permeate (definitely do this), which usually takes me at least 20 min-- so I cook on high for 2 hours and then low for 5-6. This time after shredding, I'm also going to put the meat back into the broth for a little bit to moisten the meat. The leftover shredded meat, which I refrigerate in the broth, is so amazing that this last soak may be worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 943) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States