Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was delicious. I doubled the spices. I crisped in oven for 20 min at 400, and added crushed pineapple (about 1/4 cup) and some juice to pork juices. The pineapple caramelized and added a lovely sweetness. My 10 year old and 5 year old declared that they were the best tacos ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have made this twice and I want to make it every week now! It smells so good while cooking. I think the cook time is too long, the pork can dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This was AMAZING! I only did a 2# roast and followed the recipe for 4#, but used half the broth. I added a couple shakes of curry and skipped the coriander because I didn't have any. The pork was so tender and delicious... I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amharmonious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was amazing...hubby said it's probably the best thing I've ever made besides my enchiladas. The only changes I made was to double up on the spices, left the cinnamon out (don't really like it all that much) and cut the meat up into smaller pieces (about 5 or 6) to get the rub all over. Thanks again for the fantasic recipe...will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written and it was fantastic. The final touch was after it was done, I pulled it out on to a cookie sheet and pulled it with two forks. I then placed in the oven at 400 for 15 minutes to get that delicious crispy top. SO good. Bonus is the leftovers are awesome with homefries and a poached egg and hotsauce on top for breakfast.. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was terrific! Easy to make with ingredients I had at home. And it was delicious! Fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I have several things to say about this incredible recipe. I think as written it might be disappointing. First - the secret to good Boston Butt in the crock pot is to cook it on HIGH. Not low. Seriously, cook on high and you will be much happier. Still give it 8 hours or so. I tend to not put any liquid in my crock pot when doing Boston Butt. Be sure to cook it until it shreds/falls apart. The easy way to get the amount of seasoning right is to make a rub. Double or triple (I doubled, except cinammon) mix all spices together in a bowl. Then rub liberally all over the roast. When it's covered, you have the perfect amount of seasoning (since we all probably use whatever size roast we bought in the store ;-). You can save any leftover rub for later. Lastly, I recently made this in the oven, b/c I'm without a crockpot. It was ridiculously delicious. If you have the time and the inclination to roast it for hours and hours (like 6) I highly recommend it. Just use the spice rub and put the roast, fat side up, in a baking pan. Roast at 300 until done. Roast to about 190 degrees for pullability or 170 if you just can't wait any longer. I didn't bother with broth or bayleaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Absolutely amazing. I took some of the suggestions here and made a few modifications and couldn't imagine it coming out better. I doubled the spices except for the cinnamon. I cut the 4 pound roast into 4 big chunks and rubbed the spices all over. I cooked it for 9 hours and turned the pieces over halfway through. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicholas Rossi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 909) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States