Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I thought this was EXCELLENT! I omitted the cinnamon, added chili powder and doubled the spices as mentioned by other reviewers. The combination of spices is really great and smelled delicious while it was cooking. I tried to start with a frozen butt roast and since it was taking too long to cook, I finished it up on the pressure cooker. I think I'll go straight for the pressure cooker next time (but start with a thawed butt roast. Everyone loved it and although I had a 4.5lb roast and thought I would be plenty (and maybe some leftovers,) it was all gone. I'm making it again for my dinner group next weekend. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Tripled the seasonings because of comments/reviews. Tasted too much like middle eastern and not enough Mexican. Didn't pull apart either. Not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
We love these, but they are way better if you double all the spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
We were underwhelmed. Only appealed to me buried with all the other Mexican sides: guac, sour cream, cheese, hot sauce. I'm going to keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I used broth and beer, since I have a kegerator and I figured what the heck! I also added a sliced up orange (peel and all)to the cooking broth. After shredding I recommend spreading pork over a foiled cookie sheet and drizzling reduced cooking liquids over the pork and then broiling in the oven for a few minutes to crisp it up. Serve with plenty of homemade guac, diced red onions with cilantro and lime, and Mexican table cream for drizzling!! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was very easy to put together. I doubled the spices for 3-4 pounds roast. But I still felt like it was a little on the bland side. The left overs reheated very well and were still juicy. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I doubled the spice mix and set half aside. Rubbed the pork with half the mix, cooked it in the crockpot then shredded it. When I was ready to serve I heated 1 T olive oil in a large skillet until just shimmering, then added the reserved spices and cooked for 30 seconds or so, then added the pork and tossed until just crispy. Delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westford, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
The first time I made this, I hadn't used a slow cooker before, so it was a bit of a disaster. I added too much liquid, worrying that it wouldn't have enough because I was having it go while I was sleeping. I had doubled the spices, but due to the excess liquid (my fault), it was way too bland and had no flavor whatsoever. So, I didn't rate the recipe at that time, and instead decided to try it again. The second time I tried it, I had a 3 lb. shoulder instead of a 4 lb. shoulder, so I used AllRecipes nifty serving adjustment. I still doubled the spices, since I like things spicy, but otherwise, remained true to the recipe. Oh man, it smelled so good while it was cooking, and it tasted pretty good, too. In the future, though, I'm going to increase the spices even more. These carnitas had nice flavor, but they weren't as intense a flavor as I usually like. I would also recommend cutting off the fat before cooking -- I ended up throwing out huge quantities of just plain fat and seasonings, and due to the chicken broth, you have plenty of moisture, so you don't really need the fat. That would allow more seasoning on the actual meat as well. Overall, these were good, but could still do with more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
The best carnitas I have ever made! I did modify the recipe. I multiply the seasonings by at least 4 and added 2 teaspoons of ground cayenne red pepper. We like things with a kick! Cooked in 10 hours perfectly. Very juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This recipe will not disappoint- one thing I omitted the cinnamon per some other reviews and it was A-MAZ-ING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 873) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States