Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Like many others i just doubled the spices but halved the cinnamon. The meat was tender and juicy and very flavorful. But i decided to bake at 400 for 15 min to crisp-en it. I couldn't keep my hands off long enough to fill the taco shell.....I even went up to grab a piece while i was writting this review!!!!!! It's GOOD!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This recipe is excellent. Even my picky family loved it. The changes I made were to double the spices (except the salt and cinnamon). I also added 3/4 teaspoon of dried cilantro. In addition, I followed several other's advice and wrapped the spiced rubbed pork in Sarah wrap and refrigerated it overnight so the spices would permeate all of the meat. And instead of 2 cups of chicken broth, I used 1 cup of chicken broth and 1 cup of regular coke. When I turned the meat, I used the juice from one lime and put it over the top of the roast. Then after shredding the meat, I spread it out in a thin layer on a cookie sheet and baked it in a 400 degree oven about 15 minutes. Thanks for the receipe and for all the reviewers who made many of the above suggestions. I will most definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It was excellent. After I cooked the pork, I removed it to a cookie sheet, covered and refrigerated. I put some carrots, cabbage, spinach, and more spices in the broth and cooked on high for about an hour and a half. I then put the pork in the oven. MMMM thanks! Second time not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Photo by delaney
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight...absolutely amazing. I made some changes to original recipe...I kept the spice rub the same..I threw some garlic cloves directly into the crock pot and I cooked the pork on low for nearly 12 hours! After I pulled the meat I got it crispy in the oven on 400 for twenty minutes. I served the meat on soft tacos with sour cream,homemade guacamole, salsa, Mexican blend cheese, yellow Goya rice, refrained beans , fresh tomatoes and red onion. I'm stuffed and definitely need to hit the gym after that meal but completely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delaney

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
The seasoning combination is delicious and, like the reviewer below, the aroma filing your home is reason enough to make it! I used chicken because it's what I had and filled light corn tortillas with shredded white cheeses, tomatillo sauce, chopped tomatoes & fresh cilantro springs... Great and my favorite: EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This is a great carnitas recipe. You can make it in the slow cooker or in a heavy dutch oven on either the stove top or in the oven. I like to sear the meat on every surface I can to a good crusty brown, I usually double the seasoning (go a little light on the cinnamon) and coat coat in half the seasoning rub before searing and then sprinkle the rest on top before the main cooking event. I also add the juice of a lime and 1/2 cup of orange juice, reducing the chicken broth by half a cup. It takes about 3-4 hours on the stove,after searing on medium high heat, reduce to low to simmer. If you need to, once meat is tender, cook uncovered to reduce the juices but not too much, you don't want to dry it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Used taco seasoning, 2 packs. Added garlic powder, cilantro and black pepper. No salt. Quartered the meat. Rub one pack on the meat and two hours later add the second pack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Based on the reviews, instead of doubling the spice rub, I used a 2 1/2 lb roast. Found a package that read "Pork Roast for Carnitas" I used a frozen broth I had made from an enchilada type soup. Cooked in 8 hours on low. PERFECT! The roast fed two families (4 people in each family) with sides of beans and simple stuffed jalapenos with peach/jalapeno "jam".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
One of my favorite recipes of all time! I've made this over 10 times and it comes out amazing every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Trenado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
we really enjoyed this.. i doubled all the spices except for the salt and cinnamon and wish i would have done the salt.. but salting to taste at the end was easy enough to do.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 995) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States