Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is delicious. My first time making and it was a hit with everyone and my husband doesn't really care too much for Mexican food. This will definitely be in our rotation now. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Really good recipe. I ended up doubling the spices per others recommendation (except the cinnamon) to give it more flavor and it was perfect. We didn't find it too salty but it didn't take 10 hours to cook. Ours was about 3 pounds and took about 6 hours. We will be making this again. Served it on tortilla shells with red onion, tomato, avocado slice, cilantro and a squeeze of fresh lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! I was a little hesitant because I never cook with cumin or coriander and I wasn't sure I'd like this. I was very pleasantly surprised. I did triple the amount of seasoning to coat the roast as some suggested and I'm glad I did. It was tender and very flavorful. The sauce was amazing. This has now become one of our favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GENTLEWOMAN
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is a very good and simple way to make carnitas. However I did make a few changes. As many other reviewers have said you will need to dbl the spices for a 4 lb roast. I used a clove of fresh garlic and halved the salt, omit the cinnamon (I used it and the unusual flavor it gives throws this off, will omit next time I make this), I did add a dash of smoked paprika. Also rub the roast the day before and allow it to sit overnight. I did turn it over at the halfway point of cooking as the recipe called for and would recommend not skipping this step. Also the leftovers made great pulled pork sandwiches when thrown into the crockpot with some BBQ sauce the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I always use water instead of broth. The seasoning is so flavorful that broth is unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is delish!! I never seem to get going 10 hours before I want to eat --plus I trim the big pieces of fat off and cut the roast into 3-4 pieces to help the spices permeate (definitely do this), which usually takes me at least 20 min-- so I cook on high for 2 hours and then low for 5-6. This time after shredding, I'm also going to put the meat back into the broth for a little bit to moisten the meat. The leftover shredded meat, which I refrigerate in the broth, is so amazing that this last soak may be worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This was excellent! My husband and kids loved it. I used minced garlic instead of garlic powder and added chili powder and one chopped fresh jalapeño to the rub. It wasn't spicy but gave it a little bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I love the savory flavor. This is a go to recipe in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Family loved it! Doubled the rub ingredients exceptI didn't have coriander, so did a bit of cumin. Also only did a small sprinkle of cinnamon. Followed the suggestions and cut the pork into chunks so the rub would penetrate more meat. It was delicious! Be sure and squeeze a bit of lime juice on it before eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Too much cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 909) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States