Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This never even made it to the table, it smelled terrible and was bland even after doubling the spices. I've added cinnamon to white chicken chili before and loved it but it just didn't work with this. Guess we're not "authentic" Mexican food people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I added a tbsp of Dijon mustard, a tbsp of Worcestershire sauce, a pack of tropical sazon from Badia and real garlic. Also, instead of chicken broth, I used Clamato original juice, I did double all the other ingredients. Yummo..!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretel Lores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This was excellent! I followed the directions exactly regarding the spices. I cooked it 2 hours on high and 4 hours on low, then I followed other reviewers' suggestions and put the shredded meat on a cookie sheet with some of the broth and baked it for 20 minutes at 400 degrees to crisp it up. We served this with queso, chopped tomatoes, onion, and lettuce and a side of the Spanish Rice II recipe. Turned out phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
My family loves this. I changed it up a bit though. I put the shoulder in a gallon bag, dump the spice mix in, then shake the bag. I rub the spice mix into the meat and let it sit in the frige for a while. I then fill our Dutch oven about 1/4 deep in oil and get it to medium high heat. Put the meat in the hot oil and let it brown the meat - turning it over to get and even brown. Cover the Dutch oven and move it to an oven preheated to 210 and let it slow cook for 8-10 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
This is so good...the flavor is perfect. I had a 3lb pork and it was done in a little less than 8 hours cooking on low. We made tacos with corn tortillas, lettuce, tomatoes and cheese...delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I followed the suggestions of some of the reviews and made the following tweaks... 1. Tripled the rub ingredients, except the cinnamon. 2. Put the rub on the night before and let it sit in the fridge overnight. 3. Cooked on low for 8-9 hours (depending upon whether or not somebody was home to turn off the crockpot after 8 hours). My husband said it was the BEST meal I had ever made in 17 years of marriage. I saved some of the leftover juices separately for reheating purposes. This is, thus far, the best recipe I've tried on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was great. I have a house full of picky eaters. Everyone ate it and loved it. Leftovers were just as good. I just put it back in the over for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
The ONLY pork carnitas I make for my family. The smell of it cooking is so delicious and enticing. This is an amazing recipe.....better than Chipotle Restaurant and frankly, any Mexican restaurant carnitas we've ever had. We never order carnitas when we go out to eat; instead we make this. It's the #1 food I get asked for by my family. Can easily be doubled in a lg crockpot. (Sometimes I double the amt of spices for the rub if I have a good size 5-8# roast. Can use bone-in roast but easier, of course, to use boneless but the bone-in is less expensive.) I'd give this 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Excellent set it and forget it meal. It was so juicy and tender and husband even said it was better than any restaurant he has eaten carnitas at. We are making them again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 961) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States