Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Added this to my recipe box because it has such a high rating. So when my husband and I were at the grocery store trying to come up with a new dinner idea I whipped out my phone. We were both excited to try it and sure enough, the house smelled delicious when we got up the next morning. So you can imagine my disappointment when my husband tried it but said it wasn't very good, he had wanted to take some to work for his coworkers but didn't. That night we added more cumin and cinnamon but it was too late, it didn't help. It's edible and we were starving by the time we got home for dinner but I got on here to find out why the rave reviews. All these years I've known to read reviews first but this time I was using the app and I'm not even sure how to get to them. Making the recipe as-is didn't work for us. We might try it again but we'll do a minimum of doubling the rub and will try putting the meat in the oven before eating. Otherwise it's a soggy mess. And from now on when I leave reviews I'll be sure to rate the recipe as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This was almost too easy not to give it 5 stars! Took me about 3 minutes in the morning to put this together, and it was finished by the time I got out of work! You can't beat that! The only thing I hoped for was a little more flavor. Next time, I will follow another user's recommendation and cut up the pork first, and maybe double the seasoning. Otherwise, this is a great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This recipe was so good and easy! I had tried to make pork tacos before this recipe and it never quite turned out right, but this recipe hit the jackpot! I made it just as it said cinnamon and all. (I was skeptical.) Everyone in my house loved it - even my super picky 6 year old. I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
The pork turns out very tender but the spice mixture makes the end result taste like sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very good, but hubs wanted to know if they should be spicier. I wouldn't know; not sure I've ever had carnitas. If that's what he wants though, I'll add a bit of cayenne and maybe a tad of red pepper flakes next time to jack up the heat. I used 8 pork chops instead of pork roast--we don't have pork roast right now, and I think that might have helped with the flavor permeating the meat. I doubled the spices except the salt (only did 1 1/2 tspns) and cinnamon (kept that to 1/4 tspn) because I didn't want either to overpower--and hubs can be squirrelly about "weird" flavors in his meat. I probably would've been fine with doubling both though, as there was no odd flavor or saltiness he remarked upon. I didn't double the liquid and hubs wanted rice on his tacos that we made, so I used the 2 cups of liquid from the meat to make him a batch of rice. Very good, and this results in a good amount of meat that we can make into pulled pork sandwiches or whatever. I love that this is a slow cooker recipe and it seems pretty versatile. The pork just falls apart--I broke it up with a fork and knife while still in the slow cooker and let it soak up some juice before turning it completely off. One note: new slow cookers (which I have since I broke my old one--boo!) tend to heat faster and run hot, so I didn't need anywhere near 10 hours. I think it was in the slow cooker for about 6, but it likely could've been in there longer since this recipe has plenty of liquid for moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Crisping in the oven is essential! I left mine in for 20 minutes exactly as directed and it tasted like chicharones (pork rinds). And like many other reviews here the spice mixture needs to be increased. I multiplied each spice in the recipe by two and a half and the salt by one and a half and it came out perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Ho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
The flavor for these carnitas was heavenly! We can't wait to use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
These were amazing. I first seared a 4 pound pork roast on the grill and then transferred it to the crock pot with the other ingredients. The flavor was out of this world, thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Delicious, easy and quick. I actually tripled the spice mix and used a 4 1/2 lb. roast, which I cut into four even pieces. I rubbed the spices on each piece and poured one can of chicken broth in the crock pot and let it go for about 11 hours. There was no need to turn the meat half way through. The meat was perfect and fell apart beautifully. It made for great tacos, nachos and then a few days later I put some bbq sauce on it, and rolled it up in a crescent roll with cheddar chess and had bbq calzones. I love it when I can get three meals out of something. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 909) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States