Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
My, oh my, was this ever so good. Took a tip from another reviewer and cut up the meat into 4 large chunks so that more surface would be covered by the spices which I doubled and was very glad that I did. The smell alone while this was cooking was phenomenal and it definitely lived up to it's promise. I GUARANTEE you won't be disappointed by this recipe. Thank you Erin Parker - you have alleviated me to stardom in my family and friends eyes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Delicious! Made this for my family tonight, they had tacos and I threw it on top of some romane lettuce with salsa, cheese, guacamole, and cilantro. Turned out amazing! I had 3 pounds of pork so I doubled the spices but only used 2 1/2 cups of broth. I also added about four cloves (yes the spice) and some minced garlic to the bottom of the crock pot. Even my picky 15 year old went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This is my new go-to recipe when friends and family. They now request it my name! The aroma wafting through the house while it is cooking makes everyone hungry. Even our picky eaters love it. I make a batch of the seasonings (enough for big roasts) at a time, so it is always handy. The only change I made to the proportion of the spices is to the salt. I try not to eat too much salt, so I cut the salt by 25% from what is called for in the recipe. I use a low sodium chicken broth in the slower cooker when cooking the meat, and like some of you, I double up on the spices. The meat is so flavorful that we don't miss the salt at all. Sometimes, I serve it as a pork taco, and other times, I add some of the spice mix in my favorite BBQ sauce and mix it into the pulled meat and serve it like a BBQ sandwich. Either way, it is wonderful. It's so easy, but so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
It smelled terrible and was bland even after doubling the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I added a tbsp of Dijon mustard, a tbsp of Worcestershire sauce, a pack of tropical sazon from Badia and real garlic. Also, instead of chicken broth, I used Clamato original juice, I did double all the other ingredients. Yummo..!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretel Lores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This was excellent! I followed the directions exactly regarding the spices. I cooked it 2 hours on high and 4 hours on low, then I followed other reviewers' suggestions and put the shredded meat on a cookie sheet with some of the broth and baked it for 20 minutes at 400 degrees to crisp it up. We served this with queso, chopped tomatoes, onion, and lettuce and a side of the Spanish Rice II recipe. Turned out phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
My family loves this. I changed it up a bit though. I put the shoulder in a gallon bag, dump the spice mix in, then shake the bag. I rub the spice mix into the meat and let it sit in the frige for a while. I then fill our Dutch oven about 1/4 deep in oil and get it to medium high heat. Put the meat in the hot oil and let it brown the meat - turning it over to get and even brown. Cover the Dutch oven and move it to an oven preheated to 210 and let it slow cook for 8-10 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
This is so good...the flavor is perfect. I had a 3lb pork and it was done in a little less than 8 hours cooking on low. We made tacos with corn tortillas, lettuce, tomatoes and cheese...delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I followed the suggestions of some of the reviews and made the following tweaks... 1. Tripled the rub ingredients, except the cinnamon. 2. Put the rub on the night before and let it sit in the fridge overnight. 3. Cooked on low for 8-9 hours (depending upon whether or not somebody was home to turn off the crockpot after 8 hours). My husband said it was the BEST meal I had ever made in 17 years of marriage. I saved some of the leftover juices separately for reheating purposes. This is, thus far, the best recipe I've tried on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 964) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States