Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
As the aroma of this wafted through the house I just knew we were in for something good and boy, were we! I doubled the amount of spices but left out the cinnamon, and used 4 big cloves of minced, fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder. I cut the roast into large chunks so the spices could penetrate the meat better and it worked like a charm. Finally, to make these more authentic, after shredding the meat into smaller chunks I spread it out in a thin layer on a cookie sheet and baked it in a 400 degree oven about 20 minutes, just long enough to crisp the exterior of the meat. Great on it's own, but in a tortilla with a little of the "Avocado Salad with Bacon and Sour Cream" this was just over the top good. The meat was tender and perfectly seasoned, keeping in mind, however, that I doubled up on the spices. We are looking forward to having the leftovers again tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2032 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
mmmm, these were so good and the house smelled great, as well. when my daughter came home, the first words out of her mouth were, ''what smells so good?!'' the meat falls apart and has the most interesting flavor, i think created by the addition of the cinnamon. i tripled all the spices, with the exception of the cinnamon, which i only doubled, and i thought that was the perfect amount--def. present without being over-powering. i also subbed Mexican oregano from my garden for the reg. variety. Last, i sliced half an onion and threw that in as well. !ole! p.s. i didn't bother with turning the meat. there's really no need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
GREAT!! The recipe is very similar to the one that one was given to me. I add several sprigs of fresh cilantro to the broth in which the pork is simmering. Also at the end, break apart the pork into large chunks and place in a pan with some of the broth and bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until most of the liquid has evaporated. This step gets the edges crispy and resembles the authentic style carnitas which is usually fried in lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Delicious! Reduce the cooking liquid by 3/4s at the end and add it to the pork to make even more fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I usually make carnitas in a pot on the stove and it always comes out great. However, since I just bought a slow cooker I thought it would be so nice to try it this way since I wouldn't have to be home in order for it to cook. It came out awesome! I took another reviewer's advice and cooked it for 6 hours instead of 10. (I've got one of those crock pots that gives you the option of 4-6-8 or 10 hours, and it automatically adjusts the temp based on how many hours you put in.) The seasoning was great although once I shredded the meat I did add some salt for some extra flavor. The leftovers were still nice and tender too. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I really like this recipe. 10 hours was a bit long for me, so I decided to cook it on high for about 5 1/2 or 6 hours instead. It turned out great! The meat was so tender and easy to shred. I don't enjoy super-spicy food, so I appreciated the mild flavor of these carnitas. My two-year-old enjoyed it, too! I could really taste the cinammon (without it being overpowering), and it really blended nicely with the other spices. I put the pork in some flour tortillas with some corn, sour cream, and cheese (my husband also seasoned it with some taco sauce), and it was great! A big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This carnitas was awesome. I made this for my boyfriend who is super picky and he loved it. We made tacos and served it with some rice on the side. I also made some salsa and cut up some onions to top the tacos......it was awesome! This recipe was easy and tasted great..I will defintely be making more of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I made this yesterday...it is wonderful. I made a little bit bigger roast and adjusted the seasonings. I shredded it and then refrigerated the juices seperately so that I can skim the fat off today. I will make a few different meals from this recipe including pork tacos/quesadillas and BBQ Pork. Thanks for a good and easy family oriented recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was great as carnitas. I put it in the crock pot before work and had a fantastic dinner that night. It was quick and easy. Also I had some leftover that I mixed in with store bought BBQ sauce and had BBQ sandwiches another night of the week. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This is so delicious and it fills your house with the most tempting aroma. I love this. I use a few boneless pork shoulder ribs instead of a whole and I also don't flip them half way through. This is my new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 899) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States