Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This smelled great while cooking, but didn't permeate the meat giving it any additional flavor. We served the meat with sauteed peppers and onions, with traditional fajitas fixings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I really like this recipe. 10 hours was a bit long for me, so I decided to cook it on high for about 5 1/2 or 6 hours instead. It turned out great! The meat was so tender and easy to shred. I don't enjoy super-spicy food, so I appreciated the mild flavor of these carnitas. My two-year-old enjoyed it, too! I could really taste the cinammon (without it being overpowering), and it really blended nicely with the other spices. I put the pork in some flour tortillas with some corn, sour cream, and cheese (my husband also seasoned it with some taco sauce), and it was great! A big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This carnitas was awesome. I made this for my boyfriend who is super picky and he loved it. We made tacos and served it with some rice on the side. I also made some salsa and cut up some onions to top the tacos......it was awesome! This recipe was easy and tasted great..I will defintely be making more of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I made this yesterday...it is wonderful. I made a little bit bigger roast and adjusted the seasonings. I shredded it and then refrigerated the juices seperately so that I can skim the fat off today. I will make a few different meals from this recipe including pork tacos/quesadillas and BBQ Pork. Thanks for a good and easy family oriented recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I usually make carnitas in a pot on the stove and it always comes out great. However, since I just bought a slow cooker I thought it would be so nice to try it this way since I wouldn't have to be home in order for it to cook. It came out awesome! I took another reviewer's advice and cooked it for 6 hours instead of 10. (I've got one of those crock pots that gives you the option of 4-6-8 or 10 hours, and it automatically adjusts the temp based on how many hours you put in.) The seasoning was great although once I shredded the meat I did add some salt for some extra flavor. The leftovers were still nice and tender too. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is good. We have a friend who makes authentic carnitas in a hand pounded copper pan over an open fire pit. We have been spoiled, but as I say this is good and will do in the mean time. I did take one reviews advice and fry it after taking it out of the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Yummy! This was the easiest and tastiest carnitas recipe we have found. Followed recipe exactly and came home to a great dinner. We were able to use the leftovers to make more delicious dinners for a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Amazing! I made the roast at home and shredded it, saving most of the liquid and then put the whole crock from my slow-cooker in the fridge. The next day I took it to a tequila tasting party, plugged in the slow-cooker and *viola* -- the star of the show. Everyone begged for the recipe so I made a batch of the rub and gave out tins of it for Christmas. I did not use bay leaf and I used chicken bullion in water instead of broth. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
It turned out really moist, and the spices were great, I used beef broth instead. Next time, I think I will add more salt, and spices. I served it with cabbage, salsa, cilantro and guacomole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was great as carnitas. I put it in the crock pot before work and had a fantastic dinner that night. It was quick and easy. Also I had some leftover that I mixed in with store bought BBQ sauce and had BBQ sandwiches another night of the week. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States