Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very good, but hubs wanted to know if they should be spicier. I wouldn't know; not sure I've ever had carnitas. If that's what he wants though, I'll add a bit of cayenne and maybe a tad of red pepper flakes next time to jack up the heat. I used 8 pork chops instead of pork roast--we don't have pork roast right now, and I think that might have helped with the flavor permeating the meat. I doubled the spices except the salt (only did 1 1/2 tspns) and cinnamon (kept that to 1/4 tspn) because I didn't want either to overpower--and hubs can be squirrelly about "weird" flavors in his meat. I probably would've been fine with doubling both though, as there was no odd flavor or saltiness he remarked upon. I didn't double the liquid and hubs wanted rice on his tacos that we made, so I used the 2 cups of liquid from the meat to make him a batch of rice. Very good, and this results in a good amount of meat that we can make into pulled pork sandwiches or whatever. I love that this is a slow cooker recipe and it seems pretty versatile. The pork just falls apart--I broke it up with a fork and knife while still in the slow cooker and let it soak up some juice before turning it completely off. One note: new slow cookers (which I have since I broke my old one--boo!) tend to heat faster and run hot, so I didn't need anywhere near 10 hours. I think it was in the slow cooker for about 6, but it likely could've been in there longer since this recipe has plenty of liquid for moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Crisping in the oven is essential! I left mine in for 20 minutes exactly as directed and it tasted like chicharones (pork rinds). And like many other reviews here the spice mixture needs to be increased. I multiplied each spice in the recipe by two and a half and the salt by one and a half and it came out perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Ho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
The flavor for these carnitas was heavenly! We can't wait to use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
These were amazing. I first seared a 4 pound pork roast on the grill and then transferred it to the crock pot with the other ingredients. The flavor was out of this world, thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Delicious, easy and quick. I actually tripled the spice mix and used a 4 1/2 lb. roast, which I cut into four even pieces. I rubbed the spices on each piece and poured one can of chicken broth in the crock pot and let it go for about 11 hours. There was no need to turn the meat half way through. The meat was perfect and fell apart beautifully. It made for great tacos, nachos and then a few days later I put some bbq sauce on it, and rolled it up in a crescent roll with cheddar chess and had bbq calzones. I love it when I can get three meals out of something. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe twice! I followed what some have done and did the following: tripled the seasonings, left out the cinnamon, squeezed 1 whole orange, added a small bunch of chopped cilantro but in the chicken broth, I had NO bay leaves so left those out, then once the 10 hours was up, I shredded on a cooking pan with non-stick cooking spray and popped in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. This is awesome with the Spanish Rice II, pico, ranch dressing, lettuce and cheese...all rolled up in a BIG FAT BURRITO! Would be yummy as a breakfast with eggs and hashbrowns too. Or in a Nacho Cheese Dip. Yeah, I'm finding more ways to eat this stuff up. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I loved this pork recipe. Made it for a euchre party and everyone asked for the recipe. I did listen to the other reviews and doubled the spices, came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I've been a bad girl....didn't even try this as written. So, not sure how to rate it since I'm positive I would not have cared for it had I used cinnamon. BUT...thanks to "naples34102" I doubled the rub and left out the cinnamon. So five stars for her review! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Delicious, and leftovers in enchiladas were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Delicious - I left out the cinnamon due to personal preference, added onion powder and tripled the rest of the spices for a 6 1/2 pound roast. Made this the day before I planned on serving - after refrigerating over night, I skimmed a lot of fat off the surface. Baked it at 400 in a shallow layer on a cookie sheet as suggested by many others, (After which even more fat could be poured off) - leaves the meat very tasty without having to eat so much fat. May try this with a leaner cut of meat in the future. This is a great versatile recipe -- cook a big roast and have meat for several meals for tacos, burritos, add BBQ sauce and serve on buns, I even put some on a salad. If there are leftovers, I bet they would freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 984) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States