Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Made it in my pressure cooker today, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
The seasoning for this dish is soooo good. Smells and tastes amazing! Only change I made was cutting the pork into chunks before putting it into the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Doubled the spices as many had suggested. I used 4 cloves of garlic instead of the garlic powder. I think next time I'll skip the cinnamon. I did need to add water because I live at high altitude. After I removed the dish from the slow cooker, I put it in the oven on 400 for 20 minutes. I poured the leftover juices over the roast to keep it moist. Tonight we will have these in enchiladas. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I made this last week and substituted beef for pork since we had no pork roast. I also used beef broth instead. After I took out the beef from the slow cooker, I put the juices in a saucepan and cooked it down about 1/3 and then poured it over the shredded beef. We like a stronger taco flavor, so I added a packet of taco seasoning to the juices. Good recipe and will keep this in mind again for another taco night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deena Safarik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Almost perfect! I added cubed onion to crock-pot, but the cinnamon was strong, will cut back next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
My husband, who is more often the cook in our house, was blown away by how good this was. We used a 2.5 pound sirloin roast and cooked it for 6-7 hours. We could have cooked it for one hour less. We were concerned about substituting that cut because some comments on other web sites said it wouldn't shred. That was not true at all, just don't let it cool too much before shredding. The key is to moisten the meat with the cooking juices. That really transfers the flavors too. I kept the spices the same as the recipe and added two hot peppers to the cooking liquid. We served on soft tortillas with avocados, tomatoes, cilantro, and hot peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Awesome used21/2 pd lion roast changed nothing best taco meat I've ever had making slow cooker enchiladas can't wait to try in 45 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I made this recipe tonite and took the advice from others and doubled the spice except for the cinnamon, I added 3 chopped cloves of garlic and fresh cilantro also, the wife first tasted it then told me I should have cooked it different, she didn't like it. I tried it and thought the same thing, I'm now trying to salvage the pork, got it in a big skillet with diced tomatoes, chopped red peppers jalapeños ect. Basically trying to make this turn out like my shredded beef burritos, I lived in San Diego for 20 years and have never had any carnitas taste like this, I wanted to like it but there was no way, I won't be making this ever again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I add green 3 cans of diced green chilies, I bake in the oven, covered. 430 degrees for 20 min, then I turn down to 275 and bake for 8 hours. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie Turicik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Like many others i just doubled the spices but halved the cinnamon. The meat was tender and juicy and very flavorful. But i decided to bake at 400 for 15 min to crisp-en it. I couldn't keep my hands off long enough to fill the taco shell.....I even went up to grab a piece while i was writting this review!!!!!! It's GOOD!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 964) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States