Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Double the spices, (except for cinnamon), and bake in Dutch oven. SO SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
A keeper! Used my pressure cooker and cooked for 45 min on high - then checked it and cooked another 30 min on high. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Doubled the spices as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Love it, love it, love it.. not just for the taste but also because it's so easy to make. My husband couldn't stop saying "Oh, that pork smells so good" while it was cooking in slow cooker. Since I don't like cinnamon, I omitted that but I followed the recipe exactly. Well, I guess I did use real garlic rather than garlic powder and I tripled the seasoning after reading the reviews. I used sirloin roast though because I like lean meat. I think I would probably let it cool a while before I shred it at the end because it did dry out a bit. But still, it was wonderful. My husband thought it was THE BEST and so much better than Qdoba or Chipotle. I made the lime rice from AR and quac, salsa...they all went well together. We used it as soft taco filling and also on a nacho platter. 4-5 pounds pork makes plenty. My hubby and I had two big taco meals and two big nacho platter and we still have some leftover. We will definitely make this thing again and I just can't wait for the sirloin lump to go on a sale again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I made this recipe as it, with the exception of the cut of pork. I could only find pork loin at the store i was in, and decided, even though all reviews said shoulder was the only way to go, to try it. It was amazing. I cooked it in the slow cooker for 10 hours on low and it fell apart. The flavors were amazing, the meat tender and juicy. Not having tried Pork Shoulder, I can't imagine how this could have been better. Definitely a subsitute I would use again. For those who don't like fattier pieces of meat, this is a better choice. But honestly, I just changed it for convenience. I picked up a 5 lb pork loin for $15. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
My go-to pork shoulder recipe. Based on reviewers' suggestions, I make double the rub and bake it at 400 degrees for 20 minutes after pulling it apart for a crispy edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Made this using chicken breast in place of pork, and the results were very good!! I did make a few other modifications as well though... I like things spicy, so I added a small can of diced green chillies, and also some pepper flakes. Served on small flour tortillas with broccoli-slaw. DELICIOUS. The chicken was so moist & flavourful. Absolutely yummy. I could easily just sit down and eat this out of the crock pot with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is an absolutely wonderful dish. We have made it probably 20 times in the last two years. It is easy to make, has a wonderful flavor and is very versatile. You can use it on nachos, in burritos, chimichangas or even on its own. We usually halve the recipe simply because we are two people. We always double ALL of the spices (all of which are traditionally used in Mexican cooking--including cinnamon). Think of mole sauces. They use all kinds of spices including the ones Americans traditionally think of as dessert spices. This recipes does not need to be turned over in the crockpot. We've had the same success turning it over or not. It just depends upon if we are home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I didn't have bay leaves so I skipped them. We made carnitas tacos one night and the next morning I mixed some left over meat with eggs and made a scramble, then tonight missed with bbq sauce and made pulled pork style sandwiches for an easy meal! This was super versatile and made for several days of easy meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I've made this recipe many times and everybody I've ever made it for compliments me on how good it is! I don't use nearly as much chicken broth as the recipe suggests. I use, maybe 1/2 cup. The pork will usually render out a good amount of liquid while cooking. Once the pork is done, I drain the juices, put them in a pan on the stove and reduce them to about half their original volume to enhance the flavor. I sometimes even add some more of the spices to the broth. I then add that flavor back to the pork. Served with some fresh corn tortillas, pico, cheese and cilantro...Perfection! The leftovers (if there are any) are great for breakfast tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States