Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It was excellent. After I cooked the pork, I removed it to a cookie sheet, covered and refrigerated. I put some carrots, cabbage, spinach, and more spices in the broth and cooked on high for about an hour and a half. I then put the pork in the oven. MMMM thanks! Second time not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Photo by delaney
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight...absolutely amazing. I made some changes to original recipe...I kept the spice rub the same..I threw some garlic cloves directly into the crock pot and I cooked the pork on low for nearly 12 hours! After I pulled the meat I got it crispy in the oven on 400 for twenty minutes. I served the meat on soft tacos with sour cream,homemade guacamole, salsa, Mexican blend cheese, yellow Goya rice, refrained beans , fresh tomatoes and red onion. I'm stuffed and definitely need to hit the gym after that meal but completely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delaney

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
The seasoning combination is delicious and, like the reviewer below, the aroma filing your home is reason enough to make it! I used chicken because it's what I had and filled light corn tortillas with shredded white cheeses, tomatillo sauce, chopped tomatoes & fresh cilantro springs... Great and my favorite: EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This is a great carnitas recipe. You can make it in the slow cooker or in a heavy dutch oven on either the stove top or in the oven. I like to sear the meat on every surface I can to a good crusty brown, I usually double the seasoning (go a little light on the cinnamon) and coat coat in half the seasoning rub before searing and then sprinkle the rest on top before the main cooking event. I also add the juice of a lime and 1/2 cup of orange juice, reducing the chicken broth by half a cup. It takes about 3-4 hours on the stove,after searing on medium high heat, reduce to low to simmer. If you need to, once meat is tender, cook uncovered to reduce the juices but not too much, you don't want to dry it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Used taco seasoning, 2 packs. Added garlic powder, cilantro and black pepper. No salt. Quartered the meat. Rub one pack on the meat and two hours later add the second pack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Based on the reviews, instead of doubling the spice rub, I used a 2 1/2 lb roast. Found a package that read "Pork Roast for Carnitas" I used a frozen broth I had made from an enchilada type soup. Cooked in 8 hours on low. PERFECT! The roast fed two families (4 people in each family) with sides of beans and simple stuffed jalapenos with peach/jalapeno "jam".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
One of my favorite recipes of all time! I've made this over 10 times and it comes out amazing every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lionqueenmelissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
we really enjoyed this.. i doubled all the spices except for the salt and cinnamon and wish i would have done the salt.. but salting to taste at the end was easy enough to do.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I had my butcher carve a boneless pork shoulder from a much larger bone-in piece. My piece weighed 4.83 lbs. and I ended up trimming some of the exterior fat, then cubed the remaining chunk into 4 pieces. I tripled the dry mix ingredients and rubbed each quarter with a generous coating. Then covered the bowl and let it sit in the refrigerator over night. Next morning I poured one can (14.5 oz) of chicken stock into the slow cooker, then laid the chunks on top of 4 bay leaves in the bottom of the slow cooker, set it to cook on low heat and forgot about it for five hours. At the five hour mark I turned the meat over and added half a sliced onion and two cloves of chopped garlic to the liquid. Three hours later I sprinkled a tablespoon of chili powder over the meat and an hour after that I squeezed a seedless orange onto the top of the pieces of meat. Cooked one more hour (a total of 10) dipped up the meat and separated it with two forks while scraping away the fat. I used some of the liquid to moisten the pork and enhance the flavor. I reheated it the next day and all my guest were crazy about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
i have tried numerous pulled pork recipes and this one is just fabulous (not to mention, my husband's absolute favorite!) Made a few modifications and just used 1/2 of the amount of cinnamon called for in the recipe and instead of using chicken broth, used Dr. Pepper. Served the pork in a small tortilla (both corn or flour worked great), with a little bit of pico de gallo and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 943) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States