Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This recipe is right up there my favorites recipes here on Allrecipes. Thanks for sharing this. I made it today with e\what I already had on hand. I used a pork loin instead of a pork shoulder. I omitted the coriander since I had none and I did triple the rub ingredients except for the cinnamon(I use 1/2t). Next time I would use a little less salt as well. Overall...LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Great recipe. A keeper for sure. Be sure and place your roast with the fat on top, as it will keep your roast from getting too dry. To achieve a more carnitas texture, I made another batch of seasoning and when it was complete I removed it, chopped it with half the fat added a little juice and added additional seasoning and broiled for 5 minutes, then stirred and broiled several minutes more minutes. Some of the pieces will come out crispy. We ate pork carnita tacos in Carmen del Playa and they served it with hot sauce, pineapple, tomatoes, onion, cilantro, and we added avacado on a fresh corn tortilla. Splendid! Just like it tasted on our trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy and the Moonpies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
AMAZING!!! I made this recipe exactly as written and it is delicious! I really love the cinnamon, it gives it a sweet spicy flavor. I will definitely be making this for years to come! Thank you for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I doubled the spice mixture (except for the salt, which I multiplied by 1.5), and used a 14.5oz can of chicken broh instead of the full 2 cups (since I still didn't quite use all the liquid, that was sufficient). It only needed 8 hours on low in my crock pot before it shredded extremely easily, and once it was shredded, I separated the meat from the liquid, added 2 tsp chili powder and 1/2 tsp cayenne to the liquid, and put the meat in the oven to broil. I added about 3/4 of the liquid total, a little at a time at a time, stirring whenever the top was nicely caramelized and the liquid was mostly used up. During cooking I can't say I loved the smell of the cinnamon, but once it was finished the flavor wasn't overpowering. Overall it was quite good, and I served it on tortillas with some bacon guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This has become a favorite of our family. Simple to make and so so good! My extended family requests it for get-togethers too. Perfection every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina6878

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Great recipe. So tender it was actually difficult to pull out of the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Tasty. Easy. I used a 2 lb hunk of meat on low for 8 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Incredible! Easy to season according to taste in spice. Friends were wowed and the aroma is intoxicating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is delicious. My first time making and it was a hit with everyone and my husband doesn't really care too much for Mexican food. This will definitely be in our rotation now. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Really good recipe. I ended up doubling the spices per others recommendation (except the cinnamon) to give it more flavor and it was perfect. We didn't find it too salty but it didn't take 10 hours to cook. Ours was about 3 pounds and took about 6 hours. We will be making this again. Served it on tortilla shells with red onion, tomato, avocado slice, cilantro and a squeeze of fresh lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 878) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States