Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I had my butcher carve a boneless pork shoulder from a much larger bone-in piece. My piece weighed 4.83 lbs. and I ended up trimming some of the exterior fat, then cubed the remaining chunk into 4 pieces. I tripled the dry mix ingredients and rubbed each quarter with a generous coating. Then covered the bowl and let it sit in the refrigerator over night. Next morning I poured one can (14.5 oz) of chicken stock into the slow cooker, then laid the chunks on top of 4 bay leaves in the bottom of the slow cooker, set it to cook on low heat and forgot about it for five hours. At the five hour mark I turned the meat over and added half a sliced onion and two cloves of chopped garlic to the liquid. Three hours later I sprinkled a tablespoon of chili powder over the meat and an hour after that I squeezed a seedless orange onto the top of the pieces of meat. Cooked one more hour (a total of 10) dipped up the meat and separated it with two forks while scraping away the fat. I used some of the liquid to moisten the pork and enhance the flavor. I reheated it the next day and all my guest were crazy about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
i have tried numerous pulled pork recipes and this one is just fabulous (not to mention, my husband's absolute favorite!) Made a few modifications and just used 1/2 of the amount of cinnamon called for in the recipe and instead of using chicken broth, used Dr. Pepper. Served the pork in a small tortilla (both corn or flour worked great), with a little bit of pico de gallo and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Our family LOVES this. I typically would think the cinnamon was odd, but it is the secret ingredient. Many very picky eaters have tried and can't put their finger on the goodness. This is a crowd pleaser and we use it for the meat in our burrito bar while RV camping. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Used a 6 lb roast and doubled spices. Served over nachos with all the fixings. Served to family visiting and it was a huge hit. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Fantastic flavor, nice and juicy! After slow-cooking for 9 hours, we pulled the meat and roasted in a cake pan at 400 degrees for 20 minutes to crispen up the edges of the pork; ladled the juice back on, mixed well, and served on tortillas with cilantro-lime rice, diced avocado, and sour cream. Better than Chipotle...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Need to double the spices, but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
A permanent fixture in my collection, my go to recipe for holidays and large parties, I usually triple all the spices except salt and hardly ever even use one cup of broth. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Found a way to shake up Mexican night in our house! Everyone in the family loves this. We serve it up on corn tortillas that are fried in oil for 30 seconds and garnish like tacos. I won't bother tearing apart the intricacies of this recipe...just do what you want with the meat to make the flavor your own! I started with this recipe and have added and subtracted as I see fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I think the cinnamon was to much, next time ill try it with less or none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 935) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States