Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I've made this recipe multiple times almost as-is, with the exception that I add a 1/2 tsp of onion powder. I think its pretty amazing. I also fry up the meat under a broiler for a few minutes to get it nice and brown, so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Easy meal and it tastes good, but not enough pazzazz. I even cut the roast in 2 and doubled the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
It smelled better cooking than it tasted. None of us cared for the cinnamon in the dish, so next time I make it, I will be leaving that spice out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollthulhu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alcoa, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Erlanger, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is absoulutly amazing!!!!!!!!!! Ok, I must admit, I did omit 2 ingredients....but there is no way would I have ever been able to come up with anything close to such amazing flavors. I must get the coriander...I have never tried it and am very curios to what it has to bring to a dish. I did try adding the cinnamon once and brings a whole different flare to the carnitas..my family wasn't super crazy about the cinnamon. We are Mexican from Southern California and do alot "mexican" dishes, cinnamon isn't always used in traditional mexican cooking, mole yes, carnitas, no. So, it's different, to say the least. This is a staple meal, and have this about every other week and with the leftovers, usually on the third night, we make crispy tacos...yummm...also, I like to please my husbands very hard to please family (from Mexico) with this dish, always a thumbs up with everybody. Must try recipe, folks!!!! Hey, don't take my word for the cinnamon, though, try it out, every taste bud is different. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was yummy-my husband was so excited he said he didn't realize I could make these, and he didn't ever have to go to that giant burrito place again:) I did follow some of the reviews to "crisp up" the meat in pan in oven-perfect! Next time I'll omit salt as they were too salty for me---my husband didn't think they were but he can salt to taste. Also definitely will add cilantro and a fresh pico to brighten up the flavour. I served with flour tortillas which I thought too heavy, will use corn next time. Thanks for the great recipe-think I'll use for Super Bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Served with Avocado Salad with Bacon and Sour Cream. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Delicious and easy. I added more spice to kick it up a notch but slow cooker pork is a crowd and family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hubbycooks951
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I doubled the ingredients except the cinnamon and made sure to put the rub in all the creases of the meat. Shredded it, took out the fat, and made some home made salsa to go with it. Love the slow cooker!! Great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Amazing!!! I doubled the spices as suggested in other reviews. Left out the cinnamon as I am not a big fan. Used an Angry Orchard instead of the chicken broth. Served with plain basmati rice and black beans the first night. Made enchiladas the second night. Yummmm:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Awesome unique and easy. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 993) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States