Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
All I could taste was cumin. Also 2 cups of chicken broth was unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I was amazed how simple and delicious these were! I took other's suggestions and cut my 4lb pork butt in half to help the flavor permeate, I doubled the spices and before serving I baked in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 minutes to get crisp edges. I also did a two cup mix of chicken broth and orange juice. I don't know if that changes the flavor significantly but I read a lot of carnitas recipes and many use oranges or orange juice. Thank you for this slow cooker recipe - it is a definite winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is delicious! I had never heard of carnitas before so it was fun to try something different and it did not disappoint. I only had a 2# pork roast but I kept the spices the amount of the spices the same. Cooked on low for around 6 hours and then browned in the oven for 15 min. and it was perfect! Thanks Erin Parker for submitting such a easy and great tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Def double the seasonings but absolutely delish! This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Really Good! I didn't have coriander, oregano or garlic powder so used 2 T chili powder and a couple of teaspoons Italian Seasoning. I added about 1 T olive oil to make it easier to apply to the roast. I only used 1 1/2 cups broth, and think next time I might use less. That's just personal preference. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Delicious and easy. Doubled the spice rub, added fresh garlic and onion. Shredded and put in the oven and most other reviewers did. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebakedbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These were good. They did need more salt and spices though. Overall it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I've made this recipe multiple times almost as-is, with the exception that I add a 1/2 tsp of onion powder. I think its pretty amazing. I also fry up the meat under a broiler for a few minutes to get it nice and brown, so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Easy meal and it tastes good, but not enough pazzazz. I even cut the roast in 2 and doubled the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
It smelled better cooking than it tasted. None of us cared for the cinnamon in the dish, so next time I make it, I will be leaving that spice out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollthulhu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alcoa, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Erlanger, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 990) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States