Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Need to double the spices, but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
A permanent fixture in my collection, my go to recipe for holidays and large parties, I usually triple all the spices except salt and hardly ever even use one cup of broth. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Found a way to shake up Mexican night in our house! Everyone in the family loves this. We serve it up on corn tortillas that are fried in oil for 30 seconds and garnish like tacos. I won't bother tearing apart the intricacies of this recipe...just do what you want with the meat to make the flavor your own! I started with this recipe and have added and subtracted as I see fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I think the cinnamon was to much, next time ill try it with less or none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
There are already so many terrific reviews, so I'll just agree with them. I did use a pork loin, trimmed of excess fat, as that is what I had on hand. We ate this alone and in burritos, and it was a huge hit with the family. We'll make this over and over. Great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Doubled the spices like other reviewers. Added 1tsp chili powder also. Turned out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
added a little liquid smoke but otherwise followed the recipe. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
We loved this easy recipe. One of those recipes that makes the house smell so good while it is cooking. I threw in some red, orange, and yellow bell peppers at the end, (to get some veggies into my husband). I served the carnitas with salsa and chili peppers on corn tortillas. We will be serving this at our World Cup parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Dominguez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Running Springs, California, USA
Photo by Joann
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I didn't have a slow cooker so I cooked this on my stovetop. I added chili powder to the rub mixture and let it marinate overnight because my husband was worried there wouldnt be enough flavor. I also cut the meat into four pieces. I brought the pot to a boil, then turned it down to the lowest setting for 2 hours. The meat was falling apart after only 2 hours and delicious! I shredded it with a fork and let it simmer for another 30 minutes before assembling my burrito with Mexican Rice 2 from this site. My husband is very picky about his burritos, but said this was just as good as his favorite burrito place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I have never made carnitas before and this turned out great. I used a 2 lb. pork loin roast and cooked it about 6 hours on low. I used the original/full amount of seasoning though and, quite frankly, could have even used more. I did omit the cinnamon based on other reviews and added some chili powder instead. The meat came out really, really tender. I served it burrito-style with tomatillo salsa and fresh chopped onion and cilantro. Will most definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 899) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States