Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was great. I have a house full of picky eaters. Everyone ate it and loved it. Leftovers were just as good. I just put it back in the over for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
The ONLY pork carnitas I make for my family. The smell of it cooking is so delicious and enticing. This is an amazing recipe.....better than Chipotle Restaurant and frankly, any Mexican restaurant carnitas we've ever had. We never order carnitas when we go out to eat; instead we make this. It's the #1 food I get asked for by my family. Can easily be doubled in a lg crockpot. (Sometimes I double the amt of spices for the rub if I have a good size 5-8# roast. Can use bone-in roast but easier, of course, to use boneless but the bone-in is less expensive.) I'd give this 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Excellent set it and forget it meal. It was so juicy and tender and husband even said it was better than any restaurant he has eaten carnitas at. We are making them again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Absolutely amazing! Following other reviewers' suggestions, I made slits in my roast and rubbed it with the dry seasonings (omitting the cinnamon) and fresh pressed garlic and let it sit overnight before cooking in the crock pot. Everyone enjoyed this meat and it was so simple and economical to prepare, I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Bunney
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
All I could taste was cumin. Also 2 cups of chicken broth was unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I was amazed how simple and delicious these were! I took other's suggestions and cut my 4lb pork butt in half to help the flavor permeate, I doubled the spices and before serving I baked in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 minutes to get crisp edges. I also did a two cup mix of chicken broth and orange juice. I don't know if that changes the flavor significantly but I read a lot of carnitas recipes and many use oranges or orange juice. Thank you for this slow cooker recipe - it is a definite winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is delicious! I had never heard of carnitas before so it was fun to try something different and it did not disappoint. I only had a 2# pork roast but I kept the spices the amount of the spices the same. Cooked on low for around 6 hours and then browned in the oven for 15 min. and it was perfect! Thanks Erin Parker for submitting such a easy and great tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Def double the seasonings but absolutely delish! This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Really Good! I didn't have coriander, oregano or garlic powder so used 2 T chili powder and a couple of teaspoons Italian Seasoning. I added about 1 T olive oil to make it easier to apply to the roast. I only used 1 1/2 cups broth, and think next time I might use less. That's just personal preference. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Delicious and easy. Doubled the spice rub, added fresh garlic and onion. Shredded and put in the oven and most other reviewers did. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebakedbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 984) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States