Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
My husband always orders carnitas when we eat a Mexican restaurant, so I thought I would try this recipe for him. I loved the fact it was cooked in the slow cooker. For me, it needed more salt, but the meat was very tender. My husband's verdict:Perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mobish
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
My family lived this recipe, although if you like heat you'll have to add it. I added chili powder, but next time might try some hot sauce. I also used some for BBQ pulled pork by adding my favorite BBQ sauce to some of it and simmering it together in a sauce pan. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
i wanted to make the recipe as stated so I put in the cinnamon...big mistake! the smell and flavor of the meat was not to my liking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I only used 2 lbs of meat with this recipe (but the normal amount of spices) because I didn't have anyone to share this with and I wish I had made more. Super delicious, have double the suggested spices seemed perfect. Mine came out a little on the dry side, but I think that's because I didn't adjust the cooking time despite the smaller amount of meat, but I kept eating it with loads of hot sauce so I didn't really notice that as being a problem. Great when combined with pico de gallo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
this was easy to make. tho i'll be leaving out the cinnamon next time. it was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Excellent made as written cooked the ten hours. Next night served as taco's added 1 tsp of taco seasoning to half the cooked recipe. Next night added a bottle of barbecue sauce for pulled pork sandwiches. Definitely will make again. Will use to make enchiladas. Thank you for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reenie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This recipe has a fantastic flavour, but is veeery salty. I'd make it again, but would cut down on salt a bit to not take away from the flavour of the spices. We also added a 1/2tsp of amchor powder (dried green mangos - tastes almost citrusy), and it gave a great, slightly sour counterpoint that really brought out the flavour of the other spices. I highly recommend giving it a try, or else squeezing some lemon or lime juice in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Fantastic recipe! Cooked a 2 1/2 lb pork butt for seven hours instead of the 4lb for 10 hours. Kept to the recipe for everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
If I could give it more stars I would! This was sooo yummy, I made my own tortillas and salsa OMG definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Go very very light on the cinnamon. I make this a day ahead then shred it and put it under the broiler for a while to give it toasty edges. I paired it with fresh pico de gallo and salsa verde. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 932) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States