Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
We loved this easy recipe. One of those recipes that makes the house smell so good while it is cooking. I threw in some red, orange, and yellow bell peppers at the end, (to get some veggies into my husband). I served the carnitas with salsa and chili peppers on corn tortillas. We will be serving this at our World Cup parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Dominguez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Running Springs, California, USA
Photo by Joann
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I didn't have a slow cooker so I cooked this on my stovetop. I added chili powder to the rub mixture and let it marinate overnight because my husband was worried there wouldnt be enough flavor. I also cut the meat into four pieces. I brought the pot to a boil, then turned it down to the lowest setting for 2 hours. The meat was falling apart after only 2 hours and delicious! I shredded it with a fork and let it simmer for another 30 minutes before assembling my burrito with Mexican Rice 2 from this site. My husband is very picky about his burritos, but said this was just as good as his favorite burrito place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I have never made carnitas before and this turned out great. I used a 2 lb. pork loin roast and cooked it about 6 hours on low. I used the original/full amount of seasoning though and, quite frankly, could have even used more. I did omit the cinnamon based on other reviews and added some chili powder instead. The meat came out really, really tender. I served it burrito-style with tomatillo salsa and fresh chopped onion and cilantro. Will most definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Yum! Loved the addition of cinnamon. This will be my go to recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I've done very similar, but adding a large diced spanish or vidalia onion and red peppers to the slow cooker about two hours before the meat is done. I pour the broth into a frying pan, heating on high to reduce it before pouring back over the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Followed other reviewers' suggestions and, after cooking for the specified time in the crock pot, shredded the pork and then baked it to get it a little crispy. Turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I usually double the spices and add slices of fresh lime. I also put in about 3 large onions and 1-2 bell peppers to make it more of like a fajita when you serve in tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was incredible!! Made it with a pork loin roast & it just fell apart in the crockpot!! Flavorful & delicious! I did double the spices & instead of garlic powder I used fresh garlic cloves (minced). YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David N Angela Ferber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
AWESOME - doubled the spice rub, used a 5.5lb boston butt. Otherwise followed the very simple directions. Served pulled on soft tacos, with a squirt of lime juice, diced onion and tomato and some sauce. Husband asked me to make it a regular in our menu and so did the kids!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
One of my family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 952) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States