Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I loved this pork recipe. Made it for a euchre party and everyone asked for the recipe. I did listen to the other reviews and doubled the spices, came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I've been a bad girl....didn't even try this as written. So, not sure how to rate it since I'm positive I would not have cared for it had I used cinnamon. BUT...thanks to "naples34102" I doubled the rub and left out the cinnamon. So five stars for her review! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Delicious, and leftovers in enchiladas were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Delicious - I left out the cinnamon due to personal preference, added onion powder and tripled the rest of the spices for a 6 1/2 pound roast. Made this the day before I planned on serving - after refrigerating over night, I skimmed a lot of fat off the surface. Baked it at 400 in a shallow layer on a cookie sheet as suggested by many others, (After which even more fat could be poured off) - leaves the meat very tasty without having to eat so much fat. May try this with a leaner cut of meat in the future. This is a great versatile recipe -- cook a big roast and have meat for several meals for tacos, burritos, add BBQ sauce and serve on buns, I even put some on a salad. If there are leftovers, I bet they would freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Made it in my pressure cooker today, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
The seasoning for this dish is soooo good. Smells and tastes amazing! Only change I made was cutting the pork into chunks before putting it into the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Doubled the spices as many had suggested. I used 4 cloves of garlic instead of the garlic powder. I think next time I'll skip the cinnamon. I did need to add water because I live at high altitude. After I removed the dish from the slow cooker, I put it in the oven on 400 for 20 minutes. I poured the leftover juices over the roast to keep it moist. Tonight we will have these in enchiladas. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I made this last week and substituted beef for pork since we had no pork roast. I also used beef broth instead. After I took out the beef from the slow cooker, I put the juices in a saucepan and cooked it down about 1/3 and then poured it over the shredded beef. We like a stronger taco flavor, so I added a packet of taco seasoning to the juices. Good recipe and will keep this in mind again for another taco night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deena Safarik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Almost perfect! I added cubed onion to crock-pot, but the cinnamon was strong, will cut back next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
My husband, who is more often the cook in our house, was blown away by how good this was. We used a 2.5 pound sirloin roast and cooked it for 6-7 hours. We could have cooked it for one hour less. We were concerned about substituting that cut because some comments on other web sites said it wouldn't shred. That was not true at all, just don't let it cool too much before shredding. The key is to moisten the meat with the cooking juices. That really transfers the flavors too. I kept the spices the same as the recipe and added two hot peppers to the cooking liquid. We served on soft tortillas with avocados, tomatoes, cilantro, and hot peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 899) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States