Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I also followed the suggestions of naples34102, though I only had a 2.5 lb roast, so I only used 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth. Doubled the spices, left out the cinnamon, used 4 cloves of whole garlic, cooked on low for 9 hrs, shredded the meat into small chunks and cooked in the oven for 20 min at 400. Absolutely delicious! Very flavorful. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
My husband said this was amazing! I do not eat meat, but he loves carnitas and I wanted to try making it for him. I followed the directions except used a 2lb pork shoulder, put maybe 1/8 tsp cinnamon instead of the 1/4 and cooked on low for 6.5 hours. It smelled great! He ate with whole wheat tortillas, Pico de gallo and guacamole. It really is a inexpensive meal to make. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
One step that makes these even better. Take a pan, put a small amount of oil in and heat it until hot. Add a layer of meat and sear the meat in small amounts. This will really make a difference, don't miss this step. Add and heat oil in between batches. Serve and enjoy. Melissa E
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Excellent! I also doubled all the spices (except the cinnamon) as suggested by others. Really wonderful!! Also... I omitted the salt since the broth had salt. (I also omitted the bay leaves and corriander since I didn't have any and it was still awesome)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traptbabe6986
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
SOOOOO GOOD!! I read the reviewes& followed some recommendations. I doubled the spices(except cinnamon) I minced garlic, sliced onion & added a little red pepper flake. I chopped the meat into smaller chunks so the flavors would penetrate better. I cooked in slow cooker for 6 hours . Once done I placed the meat on a foil lined cookie sheet & shredded it. I then baked in the oven on 400 for 20 mins to get the crispy edges. My husband made his into nachos while I had a burrito. We LOVED this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Awesome stuff and double awesome when pork loin is on sale. I made a few additions: fresh cilantro, lime, garlic and onion seeing this is what I enjoy in my tacos anyways but I have a secret ingredient that blew this recipe to God status... Threw in a sliced apple on the bottom with the onion and made the recipe explode with flavor. I would have thrown in habaneros but my lady friend is a pansy when it comes to spice so those must remain an after addition. Could eat these everyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JonnyG05
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Very good and versatile. I cut up my pork shoulder into chunks, trimming away big sections of fat (but still leaving plenty of marbled meat) doubled the spices except for the cinnamon - I kept that the same. When it came time to fork shred it was still a little bland for my taste so I generously sprinkled Goya Adobo all purpose seasoning w/ cumin while it was on the cutting board. Perfect! Husband said it was better than chipotle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
My, oh my, was this ever so good. Took a tip from another reviewer and cut up the meat into 4 large chunks so that more surface would be covered by the spices which I doubled and was very glad that I did. The smell alone while this was cooking was phenomenal and it definitely lived up to it's promise. I GUARANTEE you won't be disappointed by this recipe. Thank you Erin Parker - you have alleviated me to stardom in my family and friends eyes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Delicious! Made this for my family tonight, they had tacos and I threw it on top of some romane lettuce with salsa, cheese, guacamole, and cilantro. Turned out amazing! I had 3 pounds of pork so I doubled the spices but only used 2 1/2 cups of broth. I also added about four cloves (yes the spice) and some minced garlic to the bottom of the crock pot. Even my picky 15 year old went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This is my new go-to recipe when friends and family. They now request it my name! The aroma wafting through the house while it is cooking makes everyone hungry. Even our picky eaters love it. I make a batch of the seasonings (enough for big roasts) at a time, so it is always handy. The only change I made to the proportion of the spices is to the salt. I try not to eat too much salt, so I cut the salt by 25% from what is called for in the recipe. I use a low sodium chicken broth in the slower cooker when cooking the meat, and like some of you, I double up on the spices. The meat is so flavorful that we don't miss the salt at all. Sometimes, I serve it as a pork taco, and other times, I add some of the spice mix in my favorite BBQ sauce and mix it into the pulled meat and serve it like a BBQ sandwich. Either way, it is wonderful. It's so easy, but so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 971) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States