Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe twice! I followed what some have done and did the following: tripled the seasonings, left out the cinnamon, squeezed 1 whole orange, added a small bunch of chopped cilantro but in the chicken broth, I had NO bay leaves so left those out, then once the 10 hours was up, I shredded on a cooking pan with non-stick cooking spray and popped in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. This is awesome with the Spanish Rice II, pico, ranch dressing, lettuce and cheese...all rolled up in a BIG FAT BURRITO! Would be yummy as a breakfast with eggs and hashbrowns too. Or in a Nacho Cheese Dip. Yeah, I'm finding more ways to eat this stuff up. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I loved this pork recipe. Made it for a euchre party and everyone asked for the recipe. I did listen to the other reviews and doubled the spices, came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I've been a bad girl....didn't even try this as written. So, not sure how to rate it since I'm positive I would not have cared for it had I used cinnamon. BUT...thanks to "naples34102" I doubled the rub and left out the cinnamon. So five stars for her review! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Delicious, and leftovers in enchiladas were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Delicious - I left out the cinnamon due to personal preference, added onion powder and tripled the rest of the spices for a 6 1/2 pound roast. Made this the day before I planned on serving - after refrigerating over night, I skimmed a lot of fat off the surface. Baked it at 400 in a shallow layer on a cookie sheet as suggested by many others, (After which even more fat could be poured off) - leaves the meat very tasty without having to eat so much fat. May try this with a leaner cut of meat in the future. This is a great versatile recipe -- cook a big roast and have meat for several meals for tacos, burritos, add BBQ sauce and serve on buns, I even put some on a salad. If there are leftovers, I bet they would freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Made it in my pressure cooker today, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
The seasoning for this dish is soooo good. Smells and tastes amazing! Only change I made was cutting the pork into chunks before putting it into the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Doubled the spices as many had suggested. I used 4 cloves of garlic instead of the garlic powder. I think next time I'll skip the cinnamon. I did need to add water because I live at high altitude. After I removed the dish from the slow cooker, I put it in the oven on 400 for 20 minutes. I poured the leftover juices over the roast to keep it moist. Tonight we will have these in enchiladas. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I made this last week and substituted beef for pork since we had no pork roast. I also used beef broth instead. After I took out the beef from the slow cooker, I put the juices in a saucepan and cooked it down about 1/3 and then poured it over the shredded beef. We like a stronger taco flavor, so I added a packet of taco seasoning to the juices. Good recipe and will keep this in mind again for another taco night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deena Safarik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Almost perfect! I added cubed onion to crock-pot, but the cinnamon was strong, will cut back next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 899) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States