Slow Cooker Carnitas from Old El Paso® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
So you understand....I am not a big pork lover...but this dish was fabulous. I didn't cook it in the crock pot I put it in the oven at 300 for about six hours. I will definitely make this again and will have guests over to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkrek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This one was a no-brainer, super-tasty, and easy as pie to make. It has gone into my weeknight dinner list...yeah for crock pots! My 9yo said "oh, oh, spicy mom!" and then munched down three tacos like there was no tomorrow. Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcshoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Terrific! Very easy & tasty. Only change I would make for next time would be to use hot Enchilada sauce instead of medium. We tend to like things a little spicier around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Why are these cooks rating a recipe they haven't cooked??????? This isn't a "comment" site.. it is for ratings so we can make an informed decision about making it or not. drives me crazy..... Anyway -- this is very good as is. I made one in the slow cooker a few weeks ago with not much seasoning and this was great in comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Absolutely devine!!! I added double the amount of onion and green/red bell peppers, and Oh my word. The fam has requested this to be on the monthly if not weekly rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Used a 2 lb pork butt. Cut into 1/2 in. slices. Browned meat added onions for a minute or 2. Put in my electric pressure cooker. Added remaining ingredients. Cooked 45 minutes. Removed from PC Spooned into tortillas. Rolled up. Placed in baking dish. Sprinkled with cheese. Put in 350 degree oven til cheese melts or you could also put under broiler. In a hurry? Warm tacos & just put in a bowl & let everyone make their own tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This was excellent! The only thing I did different was add the green chiles in the crock pot a couple of hours before the pork was done cooking. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I give this 5 stars for flavor and ease of preparation, but I didn't like using the juice from the pot; it was too runny. Next time, I'd try a fresh can of enchilada sauce or maybe try mixing the juice with some tomato paste...something to give it body so there isn't juice running out of the tortilla. I'll make this again though; we loved the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Use a pork loin instead of the shoulder to cut down the greasiness. Opened my enchilada sauce to find out it wasn't red. I had accidentally bought the green chili enchilada sauce. I added a can of rotel to the recipe. It was wonderful. Thinking this meat may be good to use in flautas. Never made them but just might try. Have a great day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Jernigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
So easy! No need to shred the pork really, it just fell apart when I was taking it out of the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Leedom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States