Slow Cooker Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
FINALLY! I love Indian food and I have tried for YEARS to perfect a butter chicken recipe, only with something a little off, every single time. This one is right on the money! I found all the spices at Whole Foods. I truly believe that the quality of spices is part of what makes the dish. Curry paste can be hard to find but you can find the Red Curry Paste Thai Kitchen Brand in the ethnic food aisle of any super market. I used non fat plain yogurt and low fat coconut milk. It still had a hearty texture to it, but with less fat and calories! I mixed the spices separately together in a small cup before I spread it over the chicken, this allowed the flavors to blend. I am definitely adding this to my weekly menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Exceptional flavor and a wonderfully easy recipe. Made exactly according to directions (had to make my own Tandoori Masala). Will absolutely make this wonderful recipe again. Entire family loved it, and believe me, our 90 year old mother is real picky about what she likes, and she loved this. What a wonderful blend of spices, and yet the dish itself is far from overly spiced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Great recipe ! My wife is East Indian and I love butter chicken. I dont cook much, but this will definately be a regular. I made a few changes. I doubled the yogurt and I used chicken breast instead of thighs. turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This is the best butter chicken recipe I have ever made. It tastes just like butter chicken from a good restaurant. I used 6 chicken thighs which seemes to work with the amount of sauce. We'll definitely be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Very good! Very authentic. I just cooked the chicken and sauce on top of the stove on a slow simmer and it turned out fabulous... I also used chicken breast (which is why I cooked on top of the stove as chicken breast gets dried out in the crock pot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was fantastic! Better than my local Indian restaurant. I follow the suggestion made by others about the tomato paste and replaced it with tinned tomatoes. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Excellent recipe. I did replace the tomato paste with a quart jar of canned tomatoes(drained). We'll kick it up a notch on the heat next time, we tend to like it hot! Made with Mic's Naan bread on this site....soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
What a treat to put this in the crockpot in the morning and have a delicious butter chicken for dinner. This will be cooked frquently at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this tonight and it was fantastic. Butter Chicken is my favorite Indian dish and this slow cooker version is easy and awesome. I served it with some rice, naan and two chutneys - tamarind and mint. Even my picky 11 yr. old son liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Excellent! I couldn't find tandoori masala so I just left it out. Also, the only "curry paste" I could find was red curry, and I think that's what made the dish a little spicy. My husband loved it! Oh, and I did string the cardamon pods together like someone suggested. Easy to fish them out that way. Served over basmati rice. Plenty of leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States