Slow Cooker Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I am Indian, and made this for my American hubby who loves butter chicken. I made it with chicken breasts, which he prefers, and on the stovetop (just simmer for 15-20 minutes once you have everything together) and it came out great. I agree with many others -- a little bland when made as is. But add these two things and you will have a more authentic flavor: 1/4 tsp. red chili powder & 1 tsp dried fenugreek leaves (kasoori methi).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
FINALLY! I love Indian food and I have tried for YEARS to perfect a butter chicken recipe, only with something a little off, every single time. This one is right on the money! I found all the spices at Whole Foods. I truly believe that the quality of spices is part of what makes the dish. Curry paste can be hard to find but you can find the Red Curry Paste Thai Kitchen Brand in the ethnic food aisle of any super market. I used non fat plain yogurt and low fat coconut milk. It still had a hearty texture to it, but with less fat and calories! I mixed the spices separately together in a small cup before I spread it over the chicken, this allowed the flavors to blend. I am definitely adding this to my weekly menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Exceptional flavor and a wonderfully easy recipe. Made exactly according to directions (had to make my own Tandoori Masala). Will absolutely make this wonderful recipe again. Entire family loved it, and believe me, our 90 year old mother is real picky about what she likes, and she loved this. What a wonderful blend of spices, and yet the dish itself is far from overly spiced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Excellent that evening, but even better as leftovers! Very time intensive for a dish going into the crock pot, but it turned out well worth it! Doubled recipe (my family LOVES butter chicken). Considering the other reviews, I only used half the amount of tomato paste and it was not at all too "tomatoey" but just right. I stupidly made a mistake and did not double the cardamom pods (it would have made it even better). I did add an equal amount of fresh ginger as garlic. Rather than just mincing the garlic, I used my food processor (small bowl) and ground the garlic and ginger into a paste as that is usually what is called for in Indian recipes. Added this at the very end of the cooking of the onion and chicken. I used Greek yogurt rather than regular - 0% fat and makes it creamier. Lastly, although the recipe suggests adding the yogurt before cooking, I have done so in other recipes and yogurt and other dairy is likely to curdle in the crock pot. I added it right before serving. It really pushed the dish over the top. My family hasn't stopped raving. They said it was better than our favorite restaurant's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaNae Gibbs Cottam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
My slow cooker and I have a love/hate relationship - I love the convenience, but hate the fact that when I stray from the basics (roast) I am inevitably disappointed. I am happy to say this is NOT the case with this recipe. I LOVED this one. I mixed my own tandoori masala (minus the mace which I did not have) following another reviewer's recipe. I added a chopped tomato instead of canned tomato paste as I am avoiding any canned tomato product. I also only used 10 cardamom pods - it was still pretty heavy on the cardamom. I cooked it for 3 hours on high and 1 1/2 hours on low. It turned out great! I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was pretty good, though was lacking some key ingredient that I can't quite identify - possibly fennugreek? I modified this by adding about a teaspoon of sugar, maybe a little more, and the juice from half a lemon. Several other butter chicken recipes I found include lemon, and I thought this recipe was a little flat until I added this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I've never had the traditional recipe, so I can't compare it, but i did like it very much! I love the ease of a crock pot, so I didn't Pre-cook the onion since 1) it means I'm defeating the purpose of the crock pot, giving me another item to wash, and 2) the onion will cook in the hot liquid in the pot anyways. I cannot imagine it made much of a difference in the flavor, if any at all. I mixed all the ingredients, except the chicken, together in the crock pot, then added the chicken, and stirred to coat the chicken. To me crock pots are meant to be a 1 step cooking method :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by klml
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This was so easy to make and turned out very well. I did not have cardamom pods so I added a bit more of paste & spices and included some ground cardamom instead. Still had a really good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klml

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was a good overall recipe, although I did find the 15 green cardamom pods a little over-powering. I used hot curry spices and pastes. I did have problems finding the tandoori masala, so I made my own. http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/63077657/tandoori-masala-spice-mix/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I LOVED this recipe! I always get this dish when I go out for Indian food. It was so easy to make too! I followed the recipe as is. I decided to omit the curry paste and I only used half of curry powder. Only because I am not to big on spicy food. I will be making this on a regular basis! Oh and one more tip. I went to an indian store to get the ingredients, and the owner of the store told me that there is an indian yogurt I should use when making Butter Chicken. The brand I used was Taaza Indian Style Yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hippyb7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States