Slow Cooker Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Both my husband and I enjoyed this. I would have given it 5 stars but I feel like the prep instructions for a crockpot meal were too labor intensive. I did follow the instructions but next time I will either throw everything into the crockpot from the beginning or if I do the skillet routine I will keep it in the skillet and put a lid on it and simmer for 30 minutes, adding the yogurt in the last few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
didn't have the cardamom pods and had to make my own tandoori masala mix, but was very good. The house smells wonderful ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmcclain22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Was not overly impressed. Had lots of flavour, but not flavours of any butter chicken I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is very good and can easily be made in slow cooker or stovetop. By the time you make the sauce, you only need to wait for the chicken to cook. I have made this more than once and this time, I needed to sub some things because I didn't have everything and still came out very good. It's 4 stars just because I needed to add extra amount of spices than what was in the recipe. This probably depends on brand of spices so keep that in mind. I changed sour cream for yoghurt since that all I had. I used extra curry powder( store bought) since I didn't have paste. I added 1/4 tsp chili powder as another reviewer suggested and also added extra of garam masala. (Only because accidentally mixed up amounts of tandoori masala so I got 2 tsp of each but ended up really well) both masala spices I mixed myself. Also make sure to " cook" the spices with onions before adding tomato paste to release the spice flavor. I also skipped cardamom because I didn't have any. Still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Vargas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
We thought this was delicious. Traditionally, I (my home family) HATES anything from the crock pot. This was an exception. I followed one reviewer's suggestion and added chili powder to the recipe. I did not have "tandoori masala" so I googled it to see what is in it. I had most of those ingredients but not all, and didn't miss anything at all! One reviewer suggested adding fenugreek to the recipe but I couldn't find that either and found that depending what flavor you're going for, you can add lemon, honey and/or Dijon. I added a dash of each since I wasn't sure. The dish is very "forgiving" so don't worry about what you don't have or measuring exactly. We loved it with whatever I threw in there. I served it will chick peas in a spicy sauce I threw together. This will definitely be a repeat dish in my house. We are Indian food lovers all the way! Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
First time making butter chicken in the slow cooker and it turned out delicious. the chicken was so tender and I used chicken breast. Only changes is that I added fresh ginger , 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper and added the yogurt 15 minutes before serving. I made basmati rice but since my husband is not a big fan of rice , when I can home I diced up some potatoes and boiled them in 15 minutes and then added them to the chicken for about 5 minutes before serving it. I know it is not traditional butter chicken but it was so delicious. So it was carb overload since I also had it with the basmati rice and let,s not forget the nann bread that soaks up the sauce. Next time I am making my own mann bread. There is a recipe on this site that has great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
One of the best recipes I've found on here! A regular "go-to", it tastes delicious. The cardamom pods are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I didn't have the more exotic ingredients, but made it just with what we had in the house, and it was great! The coconut milk gives it such a rich feel and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I always brown chicken before I put it in the crock pot; no matter if the recipe calls for it or not ( the look of unbrowned chicken freaks me out!), so this extra step was of no concern for me. Prepping the recipe is slightly time consuming but worth the 15 to 20 minutes of effort. I prep it before I go to bed and put the crockpot bowl in the fridge with the lid on. In the morning, I drop it in the heating element of the crock, set on low for 8 hours and head to work. I wrap the cardomon seeds in a cheese cloth and tie with butcher's twine. I just fish in out before serving. The needle and thread method recommended is way too much too ask of someone cooking dinner in a crockpot. I also recommend using more chicken then called for. I usually do 6 large thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Very Good! Now I just have to figure out how to make the Naan bread to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States