Slow Cooker Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was a great recipe. I'll definitely be making this one again. It was my first attempt at Indian food and it really turned out great. The only reason I knocked a star was because I had to go through a lot of trouble to find all of the ingredients. I substituted a few ingredients based on what I was able to locate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
It was ok. I wanted something that tasted like the restaurant version. This was good, but not the flavor I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I considered giving this 4 stars because the taste was slightly off, but it gets bonus points for how incredibly easy it is. Everyone else said the taste was perfect. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akc52

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I've had amazing butter chicken at the Indian restaurants here in Nor Cal. So, my standards are probably high. I think cooking in the crock pot is just too much cooking for this dish. You could easily make this stove top with the same results. It is definitely missing something. I added fenugreek powder which is a MUST add. I also think it needs more spice, possibly with cayenne. I also favored the flavor before adding the yogurt. So, I would either omit it completely or decrease the quantity. I think taking this recipe along with others I've found will potentially make a great butter chicken. OR, just order Indian take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was an amazing recipe! I basically doubled the ingredients (we eat a lot), and made a couple minor changes ( used tandoori paste bc my local store didn't have masala, added garlic powder and garlic salt and lots of red pepper, 5 pods), and it was awesome. I threw all the ingredients in the crockpot, only sautéed the garlic and onion for a quick sec. Big hit in my house and my bf and I loved it. Will totally be making this again and again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was soooo yummy and tasted restaurant quality! I did not use the "tandoori masala" but did have the "garam masala". Also did not have cardamom, but instead used 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. Lastly, I added 2 T. of brown sugar to better please my children. Because she didn't include any vegetables, I took it upon myself to throw in some frozen peas and carrots. I would make it just like this again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Delicious, but not what I think of as butter chicken. This recipe is still really good, although the chicken came out a little dry and the cardamom flavor was a little overpowering. I followed the recipe, but used chicken breasts and cooked it on low for 6 hours. Perhaps the chicken would've been less dry if I had cooked it on high for less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
The wife and I loved this dish. I skipped Step 1 and put all of the ingredients into the the slow cooker and it worked very well without the additional cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
We love love butter chicken and get it all the time from our local Indian restaurant so she I saw this recipe I was skeptical but I tried it and am so glad I did! Absolutely perfection! Tasted almost exactly the same! So excited! Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly19815

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I was surprised by how bland I found this recipe, leading me to believe that the quality of the spices that you use directly influences this dish. It smelt amazing but tasted 'meh'. But I bought inexpensive bulk spices and only had margarine instead of butter... will make again to give it another shot with spices from an indian shop and butter, because there's clearly a lot of potential here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States