Slow Cooker Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
LOVE THIS DISH!!! I've had Butter Chicken at our local India restaurant and it was great, but couldn't imagine how great a crockpot version would taste......it's awesome!! I've never cooked Indian food before so many of the spices were unfamiliar to me I found everything I needed at my local Whole Foods market (thanks to another reviewers suggestion) and pleasantly surprised to find every spice I needed was either available in bulk or in small, packaged portions. I took the advice of other reviewers and added 1/4 tsp ground red chili pepper and plenty of salt to taste (to me, the chili powder and salt gave enough of the flavor kick that it was missing but that is just my taste). I used plain greek yogurt, next time I will add that at the last 1/2 of cooking time. Other than those changes, made exactly according to the recipe and it is amazingly good!!! Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe! My husband and three kids all thought this was an excellent recipe. I'm already looking forward to leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I LOVE Indian food and this is finally a recipe that is identical to my favorite Indian restaurant. I found all of the spices that I needed at an International grocery store. Next time I will try adding the fenugreek leaves just for kicks, but this recipe rocks just the way it is. Thank you so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Tried this recipe and it was delicious. Used boneless breast because that is what I had. Will make with thighs to see which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This came out amazing !! I added some kasoori methi leaves and some sugar. I found it to be a little tart, perhaps it was due to the Greek yogurt. Other than that, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Served on a bed of Basmati Rice it was my first time cooking Butter Chicken and it was easier then I expected! However I would have to say that 4 hrs on high is enough cooking time any longer would dry the liquid out. The taste was just amazing! cook it and enjoy your meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Yum, yum, yum! I followed this recipe exactly as written and will definitely make it again and will not change a thing. Definitely add salt to taste, that is key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Delicious recipe! Added some brown sugar and raisins for sweetness. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Not hot enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I doubled the recipe as we were having guests. Time slipped by so briefly cooked on the stove top and transferred to my Clay Pot and baked for 1-hour as I prepped the rest of the dinner, enjoyed wine & appetizers with our guests. So glad I did! The chicken was so tender and the spices were perfect! Rave reviews from everyone including my hubby who is a food critic! Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this dish today and couldn't believe the fragrance that came out of the combination from the spices. It smelled so delicious that I kept peeking in the top of the lid to see what was going on. I added the fenugreek leaves and chili paste as suggested by a previous reviewer. I don't know what the difference is without them other than giving the dish a kick. Salt is definitely needed. Once I added it the flavors came out that much more. My guess is that it'll taste even better tomorrow and am looking forward to finding out. Thanks to all the reviewers for your input and suggestions! By the way, the dish did taste better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States