Slow Cooker Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was really good. I would use a hot curry to 'kick it up' a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polar Bear
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
My husband loved it. I didn't think too much of it. It was really bland when I tried it at 4 hours and I added more curry and fenugreek and tandoori masala. I omitted the curry paste because I couldn't find a small jar at a decent price. I put everything in the slow cooker at the beginning and cooked it according to the directions. The chicken dried right out. But overall I don't like curry and I'm not a big fan of indian food but this wasn't too overwhelming and I really appreciated that. Because my husband loved it I gave it a four. I think it would be better on the stove top rather than in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This is easy! Our local grocery stores charge way too much for these spices so I make regular trips to the little Asian store. I took cozycook's suggestion and added the chili powder and kasoori methi. It really does bring more authentic flavor. The idea to string the cardamom pods together would have saved a lot of time nervously searching for them. I added diced potatoes, green pepper and garbanzo beans because on a weeknight, I just felt too tired to do the other dish those usually go into. It turned out to be a great AND HUGE one-pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
LOVED this recipe!! It was my first time making Butter Chicken and I read most of the reviews before I started. It came out AMAZING and my husband kept telling me how great it tasted all during dinner. Definitely keeping this one in the dinner rotation! I found the Garam Masala, Tandoori Masala, Cardamom Seeds and the Red Curry Paste at Cost Plus World Market. Everything else I already had. I used my Cuisinart Multi-Cooker so it was a one-pan dish since I could saute the chicken and onion right in the pot. I used Greek Yogurt at the beginning and no issues with separation, and I made a bouquet garni out of cheesecloth for the cardamom pods. I was heavy-handed on the spices and I added some Chili Powder and minced ginger as others had suggested. I set it on low for 8 hrs and my house smelled heavenly! I served it with Jasmine Rice and warm Naan bread. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
After reading a number of reviews and suggestions I decided to make this dish and what a pleasant surprise at how it turned out. The key is the spices. I took the suggestion of adding Fenugreek leaves and I'm sure it enhanced the dish. I received a compliment from a co-worker by telling me that it rivals a local Indian restaurant. Thanks for everyone's input and comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Was very good however I would add the coconut milk to the dish in the last half hour of cooking. Other than that, my family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PENNYAMUN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I had a lot of trouble trying to find some of the ingredients but it was worth it. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This needs double the amount of spices & more tomato paste. It was a little bland compared to what I've had at Indian restaurants. The recipe is a good starting point, but needs tweaked with regard to flavor. 2/13/15 - I made this again using 1.5 times the amount of spices & chili paste it calls for & it was much better - 4 stars now. I also found that for some reason, I prefer the green chili paste over the red chili paste in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I loved the flavors that were put into this recipe. What I didn't love was the fact that the chicken was totally overcooked and rendered tasteless. This recipe should be done on the stove top. THe slow cooker just overcooks everything. I also added the yogurt at the very end. Next time I cook this it will be on the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
So delicious. Served it for the first time New Years Eve for friends and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States