Slow Cooker Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Not as good as my favorite restaurant version, but still very tasty. I used chicken breasts instead of thighs, because I don't really like thigh meat, otherwise everything was the same as written. The sauce had a nice creamy texture and was very flavorful and the chicken was tender and tasted great. They don't sell garam or tandoori masala at my local grocery, so I mixed up my own using recipes I found on the internet. Served over some basmati rice with a piece of naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
So fantastic! I used a whole chicken and served the yogurt on the side rather than including it during the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
After finding all the ingredients at Whole Foods ($$$), I embarked on the journey of creating this recipe. Didnt't know what to expect as I am not familiar with these types of ingredients. I used just a container of chobani plain yogurt and omitted the cardomom pods (couldn't find any). It was delicious! Served it over organic brown rice. Will certainly make again, especially after spending so much on the herbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was amazing and easy! I made it for my boyfriend and his family, they all loved it and gave it a 10 out of 10!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MirHall
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I just made this yesterday, and its PERFECT! I couldnt find cardamom seeds, so mine was missing that extra kick. It was, non-the-less, amazing even without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was really good. I would use a hot curry to 'kick it up' a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
My husband loved it. I didn't think too much of it. It was really bland when I tried it at 4 hours and I added more curry and fenugreek and tandoori masala. I omitted the curry paste because I couldn't find a small jar at a decent price. I put everything in the slow cooker at the beginning and cooked it according to the directions. The chicken dried right out. But overall I don't like curry and I'm not a big fan of indian food but this wasn't too overwhelming and I really appreciated that. Because my husband loved it I gave it a four. I think it would be better on the stove top rather than in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This is easy! Our local grocery stores charge way too much for these spices so I make regular trips to the little Asian store. I took cozycook's suggestion and added the chili powder and kasoori methi. It really does bring more authentic flavor. The idea to string the cardamom pods together would have saved a lot of time nervously searching for them. I added diced potatoes, green pepper and garbanzo beans because on a weeknight, I just felt too tired to do the other dish those usually go into. It turned out to be a great AND HUGE one-pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
LOVED this recipe!! It was my first time making Butter Chicken and I read most of the reviews before I started. It came out AMAZING and my husband kept telling me how great it tasted all during dinner. Definitely keeping this one in the dinner rotation! I found the Garam Masala, Tandoori Masala, Cardamom Seeds and the Red Curry Paste at Cost Plus World Market. Everything else I already had. I used my Cuisinart Multi-Cooker so it was a one-pan dish since I could saute the chicken and onion right in the pot. I used Greek Yogurt at the beginning and no issues with separation, and I made a bouquet garni out of cheesecloth for the cardamom pods. I was heavy-handed on the spices and I added some Chili Powder and minced ginger as others had suggested. I set it on low for 8 hrs and my house smelled heavenly! I served it with Jasmine Rice and warm Naan bread. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
After reading a number of reviews and suggestions I decided to make this dish and what a pleasant surprise at how it turned out. The key is the spices. I took the suggestion of adding Fenugreek leaves and I'm sure it enhanced the dish. I received a compliment from a co-worker by telling me that it rivals a local Indian restaurant. Thanks for everyone's input and comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States