Slow Cooker Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Oh, I was so ready to love this, It really does smell delicious. But the taste really fell short for me. The chicken was a bit dry, I did it for 5hrs on low in the slower cooker. At the suggestion of others, I used 2 diced tomatoes instead of the tomato paste. And I added the yogurt during the last 30 mins of cooking. Its just lacking flavor. My house does smell delicious though. Very disappointed in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Beth Keck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Wow! This is superb! It is time consuming. First I bought organic chicken thighs and yogurt and tomato paste. The other, more exotic, ingredients were not to be found either at Kroger or at the international grocery. (Or else I just couldn't find them and no one who worked at the store seemed to speak much English.) I found the rest of the ingredients at Whole Foods. Thank goodness for the bulk spice section as I could just buy what I needed. We had to look up the ingredients on our smart phone as to how to make garam masala (this website) and tandoori masala (another website). I found curry paste and coconut milk. The cardamom pods were in the bulk spice section (if the first person doesn't know--ask someone else). When we got home, I strung the cardamom pods as directed (be sure to have a durable needle as mine broke). Then I made the garam masala and the tandoori masala. The next morning, fixed it exactly as directed. When it was ready to eat, I thought that it could benefit nutritionally from the addition of some frozen peas and the rest of a large package of raisins. Served it over rice and with naan. Is it as good as takeout? Absolutely, and it made a huge amount. Was it more expensive than takeout? Indubitably! Was it fun to make? Sure, as my husband helped me to hunt and gather ingredients and my mother kept me company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I've made this 2 times. The first as the recipe describes, pre-cooking everything. The second time I just put everything in and cooked it together. I can't say I noticed a difference, so from now on, I'm avoiding all the extra labor and just using the slow cooker. I did notice that the leftovers tasted better, so perhaps the extra time setting helped the flavor. Just a personal preference. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made this for an Indian pot luck. Everybody raved about it, even the Indians! Used chicken thighs with bones still in and then pulled out the bones before serving and chopped up the thighs a little. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was great! Restaurant quality. It tastes even better leftover, I think because the spices mingle. I didn't use the cardamom pods and even without them it tasted exactly as I hoped it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyK811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Only giving it 4 stars because I have tasted one better-at my favorite restaurant. But my husband who is Indian said it was delicious. I followed the exact recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Just made this recipe. Added cayenne pepper like someone else has suggested and added 50% more of the spices. It was so easy and delicious. This will definitely become a regular in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as per the ingredients/instructions. It came out very good and I will make it again, however I found it to have a stronger taste of tomato than my favourite butter chicken dish that I've had in the past. Next time I might omit the tomato paste entirely. It wasn't too spicey, so that was good because my kids were able to eat it. If you like it spicey though, you might want to add something to it to make it hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenb
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I had been dying to make this and had a serious challenge finding all the ingredients. I went to several supermarkets and no luck. Finally I searched out a store that carried Indian spices. The spices alone were $17. It was an easy enough recipe but the taste was so so. Everyone ate it but no one wanted the left overs. In fairness to the recipe, we rarely eat Indian food but my husband loves curry dishes and felt this was very average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
LOVE THIS DISH!!! I've had Butter Chicken at our local India restaurant and it was great, but couldn't imagine how great a crockpot version would taste......it's awesome!! I've never cooked Indian food before so many of the spices were unfamiliar to me I found everything I needed at my local Whole Foods market (thanks to another reviewers suggestion) and pleasantly surprised to find every spice I needed was either available in bulk or in small, packaged portions. I took the advice of other reviewers and added 1/4 tsp ground red chili pepper and plenty of salt to taste (to me, the chili powder and salt gave enough of the flavor kick that it was missing but that is just my taste). I used plain greek yogurt, next time I will add that at the last 1/2 of cooking time. Other than those changes, made exactly according to the recipe and it is amazingly good!!! Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe! My husband and three kids all thought this was an excellent recipe. I'm already looking forward to leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States