Slow Cooker Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
A great dish. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I have made this about 4 times now and love it. I did not use the cardamon pods only because I could not find them at my local market. It taste great without them. My 2 girls and picky husband also liked the recipe. I am going to try it with chopped tomatoes tonight instead of the paste like some have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Delicious! A little too lowfat to be perfect, i'd add more butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This is missing something in flavor. I went to an Indian market and got a tandoori butter chicken spice blend and also used garam masala, tandoori chicken masala and the other spices in the recipe. I ended up adding sour cream too at the suggestion of the Indian market owner to tame the heat (they only had hot curry paste) since I'm nursing my daughter. The sour cream really helped the overall flavor. I also added more butter, pepper, salt & spices toward the end. It was good but still not excellent. I buy an Indian butter chicken mix in a box that is just as good and done in 30 minutes on the stove top so I'm not sure if I'll try this again until I'm not nursing and can go to town on the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Very flavourful(Canadian spelling! Haha!) and I found it so easy to make! I was able to throw it together quickly before I went to work and then, after a day of work followed by swimming lessons with the kids, we came home to a warm and very tasty dinner! I too have had a love/hate with the slow cooker (the recipes I've tried tend to be bland) so this recipe will definitely be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I am crazy about Indian food, so this idea really appealed to me. It was very good, but the first thing I want to warn everyone about is the green cardamom pods: DO NOT PUT THEM IN LOOSE, as the recipe states! Either steep them in the coconut milk first & strain them out, or put them in a cheesecloth bundle. It was VERY difficult to find them all after cooking, as the chopped onions look an awful lot like cardamom pods when everything is covered in sauce! Secondly, this recipe needs about double the amount of chicken, IMHO. It was almost like soup -- not such a bad thing, though, if you're serving it with rice - I only had naan this time, but next time, I will definitely make rice. :) Having said all that, honestly, the Patak's Butter Chicken Sauce is pretty much the same thing, but a lot less work (granted, more $, in the long run).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
The aroma emitting from the Kitchen as this cooked was devine! I LOVE butter chicken, but find it hard to tolerate food that is too hot/spicy for my Aussie palate (which can be the case on occasion when dining on traditional Indian cuisine). This recipe however, was not too hot or spicy for me OR my family! Admittedly, I did not add the 'tandoori masala' as my supermarket did not stock it, so I'm not sure how much this would have added to the intensity had it been used. This recipe is definitely a 'keeper' & will certainly make a regular appearance on my Winter Menu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ?Dee?

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Seriously, fantastic recipe. I followed the recipe exactly...except I added an extra thigh and next time I will add a total of 6 thighs. Also, I didn't have cardamom pods. This turned out perfect. Restaurant quality!! The flavors were really rich and fragrant, I can't say enough good things about this. My new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volvomom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This had the potential to be good, but putting yogurt and coconut milk in a slow cooker is just a really silly idea. It ended up separating and the texture was horrible. I think if one were to cook the chicken in one pan and the other ingredients in another pan, then combine into one pot and add the yogurt and coconut milk last, this might be ok. Unfortunately, the method called for in this recipe caused me to waste perfectly good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
We LOVED this! I followed the recipe almost as written. I added an extra thigh and 2 tsp of sugar. I took the thigh meat off the bone myself. I didn't have to worry about getting it all off because I just threw the bones in the slow cooker, too. The meat was all cooked off and I'm sure it added alot of flavor. I took bones out along with the cardamom seeds. I also read about adding fenugreek leaves but while I was shopping I read the ingredients of the curry powders and found one that had fenugreek in it. SCORE! Oh man, the flavor was excellent and to our surprise ours had a really nice spicy kick to it. Now, that I have all of the spices I will definitely make this again and again. The only thing I need is some Naan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States