Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was very very good. Like other folks have suggested, dont use water. Use Beef Broth instead. It will turn out much better. When it was done, I had a lots of left over sauce, which meant for me, there was not enough meat. For those that like more meat, Id use 2 pounds and perhaps up to 2 1/2 pounds. I also did not use Cubed steak. I used regular Round Steak, which I tenderized myself and marianated overnight in my nomal brine of water, with lots of onion and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Very good stroganoff! I used 2 (14 oz)cans of beef broth in place of the water and bouillon. I also added 2 small cans (4 oz each) of mushroom pieces, drained. Next time I will increase the sourcream from 1 to 2 cups as my family likes extra sour cream taste and add some paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I made this once already and plan on making it again. Although it was good the way it was it was a bit bland and it can be so much more. I am going to add a few things to it and maybe try some of the suggestions of using more mushrooms, a pack of dry soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I followed a few suggestions from the other wonderful cooks. I used a large can of cream of mushroom soup. 1 can beef broth, 1 pkg. dry onion/mushroom soup mix, 1/4 cup worstershire, 1/2 cup sherry. No water necessary. I mixed 2 tbls. Santa Maria seasoning in with the flour mixture and I browned the beef in butter. I added 2 boxes a fresh mushrooms but easily could have used 3. I added the mushrooms 4 hours into cooking time. Lastly, I added parsly, chives and sour cream 20 minutes before serving. Absolutely perfect!!! I used 3 pounds of large cubed beef and about 1 1/2 cups sour cream. Great flavor and not too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very mediocre. No flavor. Try one of the other Beef Stroganoff recipes instead. My personal favorite is Daria's, which can be found on this web site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Way too salty, I think the bullion cubes added enough salt. Had to add sugar and lemon juice to off set the salt. You do not need the 2 teaspoons of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momofmy4crazykids
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was pretty good, was a little soupy so added some cornstarch to thicken it up. The Family loved it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I used to love my mom's stroganoff. Now I don't use her recipe because this one is ten times better (sorry, mom). Not your old time white stroganoff. I did add a packet of onion soup. I decreased the water to one cup and actually used one more can of golden mushroom soup. I had ground beef in the freezer one day and tried it instead of the cubed beef. It tasted even better. Make sure you drain the grease if you do that. My brother insisted I make more next time so he can take it in his lunch, and my husband and I fight over the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I reduced the water by 1/2 and it was still to runny. Flavor was OK, but I prefer my old stovetop stroganoff recipe from The Joy of Cooking. I added fresh mushrooms, onions and basil, but it still was not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States