Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
My old recipe calls for tomato paste and has more of that flavor - this one is far simpler and delicious. It's also ironically perfect for my husband who loves this dish but doesn't like mushrooms! Season meat with Nature's and brown before putting in crockpot. Add 1/2 tsp. garlic, chopped. Substitute beef broth for the water and add 2 Tbs. sour cream. (I've also forgotten the cream cheese and substituted sour cream instead - very good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Delicious and easy! Did double all ingredients except cream cheese and added minced garlic, beef bouillon cube, pepper, and added a bit of sour cream with the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clea Carty
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Doubled everything except the cream cheese, added salt pepper garlic, and a crumbled beef buillion cube. Added in a cup of sliced mushrooms sautéed in butter at the end, and used 4 oz scream cheese and 1/3 c sour cream. Cooked for 6 hrs on low. It was delicious and I'm sure the flavors will develop more with leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clea Carty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Couldn't eat this recipe as written. However, some tweaks make for a very tasty dish. The recipe includes two interesting ideas: use of mushroom soup and cream cheese instead of sour cream. However, I would suggest significant changes to the recipe. I would dip the beef in flour and brown it in olive oil and garlic before putting it into the slow cooker. I would deglace the frying pan with red wine and I would replace the water with about half the amount of beef broth. Also, I preferred cream of mushroom soup - personal preference but I found the result was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bernard lahey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
We liked this a lot. Took the advice of others and used golden mushroom soup and added beef flavoring and other seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Made as the recipe called. Not impressed. Lacking flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This turned So much better than I imagined and I finally found something that lasts more than a couple of days at my house! Great flavor and very filling. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
All the changes were great the little bit of sour cream at te end really gave it that tangy bite !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I loved this recipe. I am actually eating it as I write this review. I cooked the beef for about 8 hours though. I did add pepper like others suggested, minced garlic, and 1/4 cup of a cabernet sauvignon red wine. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was delicious but I did take advice from other reviewers. I doubled the recipe and I added about half cream cheese and an 8 oz container of sour cream. I liked the texture of the sour cream better. I also added a pack of Lipton onion soup mix, a little minced garlic, and I added a bouillon cube to the water before adding as well as a little cornstarch to thicken and a pinch of black pepper. It came out very good but a little salty. I will definitely make this again but I will look for lower sodium soup mix and bouillon to reduce the salt. I know when you change a recipe it's not really a fair assessment to rate it as written but I will say this was a good base to start from and it's very customizable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States