Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Couldn't eat this recipe as written. However, some tweaks make for a very tasty dish. The recipe includes two interesting ideas: use of mushroom soup and cream cheese instead of sour cream. However, I would suggest significant changes to the recipe. I would dip the beef in flour and brown it in olive oil and garlic before putting it into the slow cooker. I would deglace the frying pan with red wine and I would replace the water with about half the amount of beef broth. Also, I preferred cream of mushroom soup - personal preference but I found the result was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bernard lahey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
We liked this a lot. Took the advice of others and used golden mushroom soup and added beef flavoring and other seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Made as the recipe called. Not impressed. Lacking flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This turned So much better than I imagined and I finally found something that lasts more than a couple of days at my house! Great flavor and very filling. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
All the changes were great the little bit of sour cream at te end really gave it that tangy bite !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I loved this recipe. I am actually eating it as I write this review. I cooked the beef for about 8 hours though. I did add pepper like others suggested, minced garlic, and 1/4 cup of a cabernet sauvignon red wine. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was delicious but I did take advice from other reviewers. I doubled the recipe and I added about half cream cheese and an 8 oz container of sour cream. I liked the texture of the sour cream better. I also added a pack of Lipton onion soup mix, a little minced garlic, and I added a bouillon cube to the water before adding as well as a little cornstarch to thicken and a pinch of black pepper. It came out very good but a little salty. I will definitely make this again but I will look for lower sodium soup mix and bouillon to reduce the salt. I know when you change a recipe it's not really a fair assessment to rate it as written but I will say this was a good base to start from and it's very customizable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Not so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Easy & very tasty. I think I stayed true to the spirit of the recipe but needed a double batch & had to work with what i had. 2#browned hamburger, 1 can golden mushroom, 1 can cream of mushroom, whole onion diced, sliced fresh mushrooms (b/c we like them), worchestershire, H2O, 6 oz cream cheese, I saved some for the mashed spuds this was going over. About 9 hours later we fested. We almost made ourselves sick it was so good. So much for haveing a freezer meal too, this stuff was gone in about 24 hours, 2 people ate it all & we usually don't eat that much. Cook this recipe as is or it's also tweekable ( my fav kind). but try it. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shay 74

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
We didnt care for the taste or the texture at all I think Ill go back to my old recipe thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,605) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States