Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I decided to try this recipe based on the suggestion of marinating the veggies in water and the meat in seasonings. I threw together my own no-salt herb seasoning that included a pinch of cayenne pepper and boy was it amazing. This stew is great, even when substituting whatever you have in your cupboard for its ingredients (like watered down tomato soup, or reconstituted tomato paste). My cayenne pepper gave it just enough zing and the other flavors all together were fantastic. What a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made this dish as stated and found it to be excellent. The meat was very tender and the potatoes were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Delicious! I did though add mixed Italian spices and, because I didn't have tomato juice, I added tomato paste and hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mireille Probst

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times. It is high in tomato flavor rather than beef especially if you skip marinating the beef in Worcestershire sauce. I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed which is just my preference. I didn't use the jalapeno peppers either because I get heartburn from them. Instead of the no salt seasoning I used salt, pepper, oregano, basil and garlic. This recipe is very yummy but feel it should be called Tomato beef stew rather than just beef stew. The name is a bit misleading. If you find the tomato taste a bit to acidic I recommend adding a tablespoon of sugar just like you would when making spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is a great stew, although I made a few changes. I added celery. Then I marinate the meat with 3/4 cup of "Hot and Spicy" V-8 (instead of tomato juice), a 1/4 cup for "Jack Daniels" and a packet of onion soup mix the Worcestershire and herbal seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
We made this again and used fresh jalapenos and added some garlic powder and Italian seasoning. We love this recipe! -------------------------------------- This was very good but needed a little more salt (I like salt!). We used jarred sliced jalapeno, because it is what we had and also V8 in place of tomato juice for the same reason. Very tasty and nice on a crisp day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Ware De Antonio

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Didn't have any tomato juice so used the same amount of Ragu. Added 1/2 cup beef broth because I was worried it would be dry (turned out perfect). Didn't use a can of stewed tomatoes, but rather added a container of cherry tomatoes. Picky boyfriend loved it, & everything was super tender & flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is a good foundation for stew however needs a LOT of boosting and personalization. I can't imagine anyone eating it 'as is' in the recipe. First, you need some herbs and nix the jalepeno. Jalepeno in stew? Interesting but really? Also, never cook raw beef in a slow cooker without browning first...even if for 5 moinutes on each side. The browning process activates amino acids in the beef to enhance the flavor... that is Slow Cooking 101. You don't need to do this with pork or chicken, but with beef it really is a must or you'll get very bland meat. So 3 stars for the recipe 'as is' with the understanding that this is the foundation of a potentially great stew... much more needs to be added to make it 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Excellent menu. I added fresh fennel and leeks to the vegetable mix, and substituted red wine for the tomato juice. I also added fresh rosemary and basil. The result tastes great the first meal and just as good the second. All of this also works well with a good roast instead of cubed stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
It is a great recipe, but I had to add some corn starch to thicken it up a bit as it turned out to be more of a soup than a stew. Other than that, no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States