Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Lovely dinner for a cold winter evening. Easy to prep in the morning, and wonderful to come home to. The meat was nice and tender (I think the browning made that happen). I used the Yukon potatoes I had on hand, which worked out well. I added a few more carrots than called for, and I didn't end up needing a thickener at the end, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. I was worried that it would be too onion-y, but it all really cooked down and the onion didn't overwhelm in the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Very tasty, the stew meat was extremely tender and everyone went back for 2nds. I followed all the directions and added all the ingredients, I added fresh herbs, more vegetables & a tiny bit of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Delicious! My family loved it. Just the way stew should be. The only change I made was I didn't add the flour at the end because I felt it was thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
With this recipe, I cooked the best stew I have ever made to date. My other stews were never this tasty, nor the meat so tender...this beef was falling apart and you could break it apart with the slightest touch from a spoon. Even the leftovers were amazingly tender, and I think the flavor just got better. Didn't change a thing. Filing this one in my bag of tricks. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This turned out to be the best beef stew I've ever made. We did, however, adjust the seasoning thusly: omitted onion soup mix and boiling water and replaced with 2 cups of beef stock plus 1 heaping teaspoon minced garlic and 2 tsps Herbs d'Province. Added 2 tsps of sweet Paprika to the dredging flour. We used a Cabernet Sauvignon for the wine which worked great. Oh and we added 1/2 lb of sauteed mushrooms with the vegetables. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndiaJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Could not be better! Followed exactly and came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Best beef stew ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Diehl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have made this stew many times. My husband loves it! A couple of times I didn't have any onion soup mix so I substituted 2 cups of boiling water with 3 Tbls. of chicken soup base, and 3 Tblsp. of tomato paste,1 Tblsp. worcestershire sauce, 1 tsp. garlic powder and 1 tsp. oregano. I also add a bay leaf on top while it is simmering. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I thought it was ok, a lot of prep for a slow cooker recipe. I took the day off, otherwise there would not have been time to prep it, which took closer to 25 mins. I did not have any onions - perhaps that would have mad the difference? My kids would have not liked the onions anyway. My son, 5, who is the least picky in my family loved it. My daughter, 8, was all "Meh". My husband is the most fussy and he swallowed a few bites, saying it was not his thing. I enjoyed it well enough, but will need to wait a good long time before trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is great stew. It has become a winter weather staple at home. Suggest marinating the beef in a good sweet red wine with a little cider vinegar or worcestershire. Use the marinade as the wine in the recipe but double the amount and you've got a great stew. goes great with biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States