Slow Cooker Beef Stew III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
My husband said it was the best I have ever prepared. The only change was tenderized stew meat to replace the regular chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northwest grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snead, Alabama, USA
Living In: Raymond, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This turned out great! Didn't change too much,used 2 packets of dry onion soup mix instead of one, used 1 can of beef broth instead of water, and used baby bella mushrooms (personal preference). Also only used 2 pounds of meat instead of 3 (three pounds just seemed like alot to me!). And there was no need to thicken it, turned out perfect! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This was a great starter for stew. It needed more flavor though. I had to thicken at the end. About an 45 minutes before serving I melted 4 TBLS of butter and slowly added 1/4 cup of flour. Once that was all mixed I slowly added juice from the stew until it was nice and creamy. I slowly added back to the stew. It gave it a great consistency, just like Mom used to make. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Yum! I began it about 10:30 pm last night and we ate at 5:30 today. Delish! I added some Worcestershire sauce and also added vegetable broth instead of the water. The only problem was, I couldn't sleep much since the wonderful aroma kept me up! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I browned the meat and used beef broth instead of water. Cooked this all day and it came out great. I got wonderful reviews from everyone that tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Pretty good! would give it 4.5 stars if I could. I, too, was unable to start this the night before and honestly glad I didn't. Even on low I would think the veggies would be complete mush after all that time. I started mine on high at 10 am, turned it down to low after 4 hours and the meat was spoon tender by 7pm. With 1 hour to go I added 2 Tbs of corn starch to the stew and let it cook the last hour with the lid off and it thickened up PERFECTLY. I used vegetable broth instead of water and added about 2/3 cup of red wine (cab merlot blend) and 2 cloves of garlic to the mix. I was also a little heavy handed with the other veggies as I had stuff to use up. All in all this is a tasty recipe I will definitely make again although I think I may wait to put the veggies in at the half way point next time so they are not sooooooo soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I skipped the mushrooms and added peas. It was fantastic! It couldn't have been any easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Novice cooker, used exact ingredients and cooked for 9 hours on low. Came out great, would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
The whole family loved this stew! I used beef the first time, then tried it with chicken and it turned out just as well. I added some minced garlic for additional flavor and thickened it up a bit with cornstarch toward the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Oh my goodness, this is The Best and is SO easy. I used only 1 lb. of meat and we found it was Just the right amount of meat for the 2 of us. I also added a little more veggies then it called for & left the mushrooms out.I cooked for 2Hr's on high & low for less then an hr. It was tender & YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debora C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States