Slow Cooker Beef Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Just made this stew today and didn't change a thing. Was a little nervous after reading some reviews about browning meat first but it came out great! Everybody complimented me on it:O) I just started to cook in my new Ninja slow cooker (which by the way is great) and this recipe is a keepsake. You can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was my first time making beef stew and it turned out really good.Since I like tomatoes and barley in beef stew,I added both.One half cup of pearled barley and one 28oz. can of stewed tomatoes,diced and not drained.I added more broth(1 QT instead 1 1/2 cups) because I knew the barley would require more liquid.I also added 1 T. of sugar.This is an easy,delicious slow cooker recipe and I will definitely be making it again.I realize there are other recipes that already include barley and tomatoes, but this one looked so simple and good that I decided to just add to it.Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I thought it was very tasty, but when I did it for 4 hours on high all of the broth was gone and it was starting to burn, so just something to look for especially if you have new slow cooker because I have heard they get a lot hotter and can tend to over cook. I just added a little more broth and it was all good. =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Some may not like this but I substituted moose for beef and..... Wow!!!! Turned out great . When I make this again I may try a few little tweaks of my own but it turned out great just the way it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candy342
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great recipe as is. My husband had seconds, then thirds. Definitely a lower sodium dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I loved this recipe! I added half a of bottle hard cider, and cooked it on low for 6 hours, then on high for 4 hours."You won't be slow to say 'yum'!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I just made this stew... Doesn't look like enough liquid, I hope it turns out ok as this is going in the freezer to get me through the first few days of a new baby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Louviere Hubbard
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Loved the "throw it in the crock pot and forget it" thinking on this recipe. The beef stew meat was tender and the sauce with the potatoes , carrots, green beans, and celery was thick. and creamy. Not much of it left, now. Friend came over, she sampled it and she loved it too. Will save to cook again, but might have to make two pots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
It was not bad, but it wasn't spectacular. It really does work for a weeknight meal with lots of veggies. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I think this is a great stew as is for anyone wanting a simple crockpot stew! The only change I made was adding some frozen peas. I just need peas in my stew to make it perfect, however I think next time.... And there will be a next time...I will just add thawed (and drained) peas at the end. I think the water from the frozen ones added too much liquid to the juice so it didn't thicken at all. But even with my juice being more watery it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States