Slow Cooker Beef Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
It was my first recipe and though I appreciate the simplicity of the recipe, I think the stew can benefit from more salt and spices. This would help develop a richer flavor. Anyways, nice base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This recipe was very bland. I really needed to add a great deal of salt, pepper, much more Worcestershire sauce. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Great flavor. Increase liquids for soupier stew. Don't bother browning meat next time even though some reviewers recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I followed, except I did not have a bay leaf. I set it for 6 hours on high. At 4 hours there was no liquid left at all, so I added 2 cups of beef broth and set for 1 1/2 hours. My husband is very picky, and he loved it! I was so excited to find something very easy to make that he and the kids devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Necessity/mother of invention and all that! I've made this recipe before (must've forgotten to rate it), and followed Corrine's changes - excellent! Yesterday, with a sick child at home and a package of stew meat to use up, I had to be inventive... and it was excellent again. I had no beef broth, but did have an open box of vegetable broth to use up. I added about 1 1/2 packets of beef seasoning from Ramen packages, which I was afraid would only add salt, but did seem to add some beefiness. I also didn't have the McCormick Beef Stew packet (have never bought that) so I added in a package of Lipton's Onion Soup Mix. No red wine, so I used white. More garlic, full TBSP of worcestshire, and all the other changes as per Corinne (browning the beef, etc.), and it was so darn good that my family polished off 2 pounds of meat! It was not overly salty as I had worried with all those soup/seasoning packets. I did thicken the sauce a bit at the end as I had added a bit of extra broth and it was very thin. I had a LOT of veggies and sauce leftover with no meat... so guess what's in the crockpot this morning? :-) I'm cooking more meat to add in, and I think I'll throw in some peas today as well. Very forgiving recipe/technique, and with a bit more garlic and onion, extremely flavorful. I'd also like to say that I really do appreciate all the comments that add in changes - I rarely have exactly the ingredients on hand, and love the input of possible changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made this recipe as is with no alterations. I liked how tender the beef was after cooking on high for 6hrs. But this recipe lacked flavor- The hearty flavor you want when your craving a good stew on a cold day. I will make it again, but I'll use suggestions found here in the reviews by Corinee. Definitely more garlic, salt, pepper. I will also add a lil red wine next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4FuninLV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
A delicious stew recipe exactly as it is. I added a little garlic salt to my bowl because of preference (but I wouldn't be against not having added it), and my boyfriend ate it with nothing added, so it all depends on the person's taste. The watery juice threw me off at first, but it thickened up after it had the chance to sit for a few minutes. Because of time, but because I prefer slow-cooker recipes cooked on low, I cooked it for 5.5 hours on low, then 2 hours on high (about halved both cooking times), and it turned out perfectly. I'm saving this recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelocta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Really Great Recipe! I added Mushrooms and peas (put the peas in closer to the end- abt 1 hr before finishing). I also just quartered about 6 or 7 baby red potatoes. Cooked on high for 4 hrs and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I have been trying stew recipes for years and this one is best in my opinion. It is simple and quick, and you ONLY use the slow cooker. The only addition I make is a 15oz can of dieced tomatoes, hubbies preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
A home run with my family of 5! The beef is very tender and the flavor is so rich and satisfying! I followed the recipe exactly but doubled it and still had only one serving leftover! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States