Slow Cooker Beef Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
SUPERB beef stew! I took the great base recipe, and tweaked it with a compilation of reviewer recommendations. The end result is a winner, to be sure. Here is what I did (and I won't change a thing the next time I make it): 1. Increase flour to 1/3 cup and substitute seasoned salt for regular salt. Put flour mixture into gallon-sized, zippered bag. Shake beef in bag to coat. Sauté coated beef in 1-2 tablespoons olive oil until browned. Add chopped onion to beef to sauté and soften. Transfer to slow cooker. 2. Mix beef broth (I used Swanson's Certified Organic in aseptic carton) with 1 TABLEspoon Worcestershire and ½ cup red wine. Pour into hot skillet to deglaze, then pour over beef and onions in cooker. 3. Add remaining ingredients with these additions: increase garlic to 2 cloves minced, 2 bay leaves; add 1 packet McCormick's Beef Stew Seasoning. Your home will smell wonderful all day, and your meal will be a savory feast! I served the stew in bowls, accompanied by slices of fresh, crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I have been making this stew for almost 3 years and wanted to review it again. Although I'm sure Corinne's suggestions are good, what I like most about this recipe is the simplicity of preparation...no browning the beef. I've made this over a couple dozen times at least - doubled - and have never had leftovers. It is a terrific recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5371 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I made this stew for the first time using Corinne's suggestion. The stew turned out great! The next week, I made the stew following the exact recipe (minus the celery, since I didn't have any); and I must say that the stew turned out EVEN BETTER when following the exact recipe. (Also, I didn't have as many dishes to wash.) This stew is SO DELICIOUS. Next time I make this you can bet I will follow the recipe EXACTLY AS WRITTEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3591 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I don't understand why Corrine doesn't just post her own recipe for beef stew. The point is to review the given recipe, not list a million changes to it. This stew is perfect AS WRITTEN. If you make any changes, you are not making this recipe for beef stew!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1374 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
THIS is a terrific basic recipe!! Nothing to stop you from adding your favorite things - although the TASTE is GREAT just like it is. I used chuck because it's not as dry as a bottom round. I had a tomato so I chopped it up & added it. I saw where someone had added an envelope of beef gravy - great idea too!!! Thank goodness there's people out there REALLY KNOW HOW TO COOK!! Oh, and don't bother to brown the beef the way some recipes state - it only makes the beef dry. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
575 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I made similar adjustments to previous raters. I dredged the beef in flour/salt/pepper and pan friend until browned in olive oil before adding to the slow cooker. Then I added some butter and onion to the pan and cooked until softened. Next I deglazed the pan with some of the broth being sure to scrape up the yummy bits. In total I used 2 10 oz cans of beef broth. I added 10 oz. sliced button mushrooms. Used almost 2T worchestershire sauce, added a bunch of extra herbs and finally thickened with cornstarch. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
452 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I followed Corinnes suggestions and this came out fantastic! The flavor and cosistency were wonderful, and just as good the next day. So you dont have to search for it, here is her suggestion: 1. Increase flour to 1/3 cup and substitute seasoned salt for regular salt. Put flour mixture into gallon-sized, zippered bag. Shake beef in bag to coat. Sauté coated beef in 1-2 tablespoons olive oil until browned. Add chopped onion to beef to sauté and soften. Transfer to slow cooker. 2. Mix beef broth with 1 TABLEspoon Worcestershire and ½ cup red wine. Pour into hot skillet to deglaze, then pour over beef and onions in cooker. 3. Add remaining ingredients with these additions: increase garlic to 2 cloves minced, 2 bay leaves; add 1 packet McCormick's Beef Stew Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
395 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
An excellent and easy stew recipe. I make minimal changes (I like parsnips, so I add three chopped in place of celery, and I add a little more broth because I like more gravy), but that's about it. This is one of those easy, homey, stick-to-your-ribs recipes. Some of the reviews tick me off: Yes, it's a "regular" stew recipe because it is, after all, STEW. And all the changes that other reviewers make? Don't say "I made this recipe, but I changed EVERYTHING about it." You aren't doing this recipe justice.. heck, you aren't doing THIS recipe at all. I'm as guilty of changing recipes to suit my tastes and pantry as much as anyone, but at least tell us that you've made the original recipe as written before doing your million-and-one changes! Thanks for sharing this tasty-as-written recipe, Buchko!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I have this exact recipe in the recipe booklet that came with my slow cooker! I make it all of the time and my family loves it. I use a packet of dry onion soup mix in place of all the spices, only because it's an easy and convenient way to toss it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Excellent! VERY thick stew, so if you like a little bit of juice, increase the water. I used inside round sirloin marinating beef (didn't have stewing beef on hand, and this is leaner than stewing beef). I added an extra 1/2 cup of water, an extra celery stalk, frozen peas (during the last hour of cooking) and more potatoes to ensure that it was filling enough for four hungry adults. It was polished off! Double this recipe if you have more than four adults, or if you want some leftovers. I served it with Maritime brown bread and cheese - yummy! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States