Slow Cooker Beef Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Fine. Not amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
My family did not like the flavor and the sauce was goopy. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I've made this at least 2 dozen times. First time I followed the recipe. Then I made a few very minor changes. Mix flour and spices in plastic bag. Instead of regular paprika I use 1 teaspoon smoked paprika and 1 teaspoon hot Hungarian paprika. Add beef to bag and shake to coat. Leave beef in bag while prepping veggies. When veggies are prepped shake bag once more. Dump beef in crockpot. Toss in veggies and additional ingredients. Stir once and cook on high for 2 hrs. After 2 hrs stir and continue cooking on low. Usually 6-7 hrs. I normally serve with small tossed green salad and hunks of toasted garlic bread. Have a pot cooking right now and house smells great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I didn't change anything. This is a nice recipe to have on hand to toss in the slow cooker and let do its own thing on a busy day. I prefer my mom's, but this is serviceable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
First let me just say, I followed this recipe for the most part as written and I have no idea why the first top reviewer did what she did to it. I'm sure her stew came out great, however, this stew was DELICIOUS following the recipe posted. Totally unnecessary to do all those extra steps and ingredients. Because I used a little more beef than 2 pounds and put more potatoes, carrots, and celery then stated, I doubled many of the ingredients to make up for the added food. The only big changes I made were added a 6 oz can of tomato paste, and I did up my paprika to 2 TBSP as well as 2 TBSP worchester sauce and the stew was AMAZING!! What a great recipe. Oh, how could I forget, I love putting wine in any meat dish I cook, so I added a 1/2 cup of pinot noir. Perfection. My husband loved it so much, he was eating left overs after he finished his plate right out of the crock pot. Luckily I still had enough for dinner the next night. Thank you to the original poster for a great, simple, and TASTY recipe! It's getting added into my rotation of meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molina411

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
4 Stars for ease, 3.5 for taste. Can't beat how simple it was to throw together. I peeled potatoes the evening before and submerged in water in fridge. Cut up the onion ahead of time too and then just dumped it all in the slow cooker in the morning. Nice easy dinner for a snowy workday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Did not change a thing and it was delicious .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Adding flour & seasonings directly to the meat in the crock pot and skipping the whole pre-browning step resulted in an amazing broth - only other difference: I didn't have beef broth, so I added a packet of brown gravy mix. Superb stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUNLK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Randalll
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Delicious just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I tried to keep this receipt the same up until the end. It was too watery for my taste so I had to add 2 tablespoons of flour to thicken it up. I also added frozen peas at the last 15 minutes. Not bad though, Will keep this for a base receipe and touch it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States