Slow Cooker Beef Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This recipe is great! Bought a power pressure cooker was in a hurry to try a recipe and this came out great. I doubled paprika, garlic and worcheshire, added more potatoes and parsnips. Everyone loves it. Then I tried swapping chicken for beef and chicken broth for the beef broth,everything else basically the same, that came out fabulous to, actually Even better. My daughter keeps asking for recipe chicken version and my husband is eating it out of the pot before its served - I made it today for tomoro and I had to hide the whole pot or he would eat it in the middle of the nite---never any leftovers. This recipe is especially good if your on a budget and you just need to scrounge stuff from the fridge for a meal. BTW dont like the power pressure cooker, probably a better one out there but i own it now so I have to use it, does it in 30 minutes when it works. and BTW I made it exactly before I tweaked anything, great! Now I just tweak according to what meat I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly and I thought it was regular old beef stew. Today I decided throw some other stuff in there for some more flavor. Whatever I had in the house. No browning, but I added onion powder to the flour, then added some red wine in with the broth, 2 fresh bay leaves and some added salt and pepper. I had a parsnip and some fresh parsley in the house and threw those in, and then added some sciracha on a whim. It was so much more flavorful! Served it over whole wheat egg noodles. A terrific dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Fantastic stew! I browned the meat before putting it in the crockpot but followed all other directions exactly. Oh my, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Fantastic! Perfect comfort food for a cold day here in upstate NY! Even the skeptical 13 year loved it and asked for more. I made this as the recipe said, no changes. Well, wait, I did dredge and pan fry the beef before I put it in the crock pot, old habit I guess. Next time I may add a little corn for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pete

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
No fuss and very tasty! First time in a long time no leftovers...a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Loved this stew ! Easy dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made this recipe pretty much as it was written. I liked that I didn't have to brown the meat and camarlize the onions before adding to the crockpot. I considered it, but glad I didn't. The meat had pretty good flavor and was moist and I didn't have to dirty more dishes or take more time to prep. The only things I did differently was add the paprika to the flour/salt/pepper and add some thyme. Next time, I will add a little more salt and pepper, maybe a full tsp, a little more worchestershire sauce plus some tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was so good and really easy. Only 2 things I tweaked were that I did not add celery (don't like it) and I sauted the onion in a pan with a little canola oil (to ensure they would be soft). Really loved the taste. Everything was tender and perfect imo. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Really nice should try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was my first time using my crock pot and I decided to try beef stew. This recipe is excellent and simple. I followed the recipe exactly as it was and every one in my family was pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 2,342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States