Slow Cooker Beef Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Excellent!!!!! I added some A1sauce and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
So easy to make.... I did not change a thing other than using 3 cloves of garlic and tossed them in whole. I did not have 2LB of meat used what I had 1.6LB and also used 15 or more of the whole small baby carrots leaving only the potatoes and celery to dice. I was going to add a splash of red wine but didn't have any. Hubby said the "sauce was very tasty". Made this before heading off to work. Cooked on low for 11 hours and was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is a great base recipe for beef stew. My issue with the recipe is in the instructions. If you makes it exactly as written, the stew will not thicken much since there will not be enough fat in the stew to make a proper roux. I sauteed the beef and flour mixture in 2 tablespoons of olive oil and then added the onions to the mix, let them cook down a bit and added the garlic. I then used some wine to deglaze the pan before adding the veggies, bay leaf, Worcestershire sauce and broth. I also added a homemade stew seasoning to suit my family's tastes. Since I don't have room for a slow cooker on my counters, I tossed the stew into a dutch oven and let it sit in the oven at 250 degrees for 8 hours. It came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin Locke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Omg it was awesome thank u so much my family had the best meal for the night since I had to work all day ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aliqat
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I used this recipe as my base. I had a couple of big T-Bone steaks I cubed them then seared them in olive oil at med-high heat. Once they were seared I put them in the slow cooker. I used beef broth to deglaze my pan and added that liquid to the meat. I used 6 potatoes, 4 celery stocks, 1/2 large onion, baby carrots cut into 1/2" pieces. I minced 5 garlic cloves, 2 Tab of worstershire sauce, 2 packets of stew seasoning, 3 bay leaves, salt and pepper to taste put it all in the slow cooker on high for 5 1/2 to 6 hours then reduced to low. It was delicious, my husband and my parents who are visiting loved it . The only thing I'll do different next time is use a different cut of beef, I used a London broil last time put it in whole and after 10 hours it fell apart and I think it had a better taste. This is a great sit by the fire with a big bowl of stew to warm you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was just okay. Nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
It was good but I felt it came out bland as written and so did my husband. We never salt our food after cooking but we had to with this recipe. I used a half bag of frozen mixed vegetables so maybe that diluted it somewhat...it was also kind of watery to me-more like a soup so I thickened it with 1/4 cup cornstarch. A decent basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This is very simple to make. All ingredients on hand. So very good for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wnygrl585
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This is a great slow cooker recipe. I didn't have beef broth so I used 2 beef bullion cubes to make broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I made this recipe as is and it's fantastic! I love garlic and I added more than was called for and it was too much for this recipe but the flavor was amazing regardless. The very best part about this recipe is that you don't have to do anything fancy like some reviewers have suggested, just simply follow the instructions and enjoy the rest of the time you don't have to be in the kitchen cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 2,374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States