Slow Cooker Beef Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made this recipe pretty much as it was written. I liked that I didn't have to brown the meat and camarlize the onions before adding to the crockpot. I considered it, but glad I didn't. The meat had pretty good flavor and was moist and I didn't have to dirty more dishes or take more time to prep. The only things I did differently was add the paprika to the flour/salt/pepper and add some thyme. Next time, I will add a little more salt and pepper, maybe a full tsp, a little more worchestershire sauce plus some tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was so good and really easy. Only 2 things I tweaked were that I did not add celery (don't like it) and I sauted the onion in a pan with a little canola oil (to ensure they would be soft). Really loved the taste. Everything was tender and perfect imo. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Really nice should try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was my first time using my crock pot and I decided to try beef stew. This recipe is excellent and simple. I followed the recipe exactly as it was and every one in my family was pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent and easy. I never like the way fresh potatoes come out in beef stew in the slow cooker. So I used a can of "whole potatoes" - let me tell you, these were amazing in this delicious stew even after cooking all day they kept their shape and didn't soak in the liquids. I would highly recommend using canned potatoes as I did. Used more celery than the recipe called for, since I like it :) - otherwise basically used the recipe as written, very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Was excellent as written with some added salt before serving. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I thought it was very tastey & easy to make. I also add about a cup of peas, 1 can of petite diced tomatoes & 1 envelope of lipton onion soup mix. I also use more than 3 of the smaller redskin potatoes whole. Maybe about 10 - 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I had to omit the celery but I added half a diced swede - magnificent stew; I'm so proud! For extra credit I added dumplings too. My wife had tears in her eyes as she licked the bowl clean. Her smelly dog was denied the leftovers. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Second time making this exact same recipe becuase the first time was so easy and absolutely loved by the whole family! I don't have the time to brown anything or sift in zip locks! Worked all night and feet are killin..which is why iv chosen this exact recipe...just throw it all in and out comes a masterpiece of superbness! Amazing and can't wait to eat it on this cold winters night, as soon as I wake up! Gnight ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Outstanding stew, I followed the review from JLSPAHN and it came out perfect. I will use this recipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Rolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 2,294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States