Slow Cooker Beef Stew I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I come to this site to get true reviews on the original recipe as written. Time and again I see. I tweeked it this way..When I see that, I go on to find the reviews of the recipe as written. Might as well get out my cook books (which does not include reviews). Give us new cooks a break. Some of us have limited spices etc. Stew is very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I would have given this 5 stars as the taste was delicious and the sauce it created was the perfect consistency. The meat nearly disintegrated, but may have been my fault as the pieces were small and I perhaps cooked it too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I was looking for an easy recipe! This is so easy! Although I didn't have carrots and celery I wanted to try it anyway! It was delicious! I increased the potatoes and onions just to have more veges because that's all I had! Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This recipe doubles perfectly. The only change I made was adding more Worcestershire and a lot more minced garlic. It is the classic beef stew. My British husband and our adult children love it anytime and the leftovers (what leftovers?) are delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This recipe is perfect as is it, but is also open to lots of variation. Currently waiting on/smelling my 10th version of it. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Excellent as is:0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chronicbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I made this recipe, as written, yesterday. Enjoying it for lunch today. So tender & tasty. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Since we need to follow Gluten Free cooking I made similar adjustments - came out great. I used 2.5 lbs of chuck stew beef; kept the spice amounts the same; used 5 med potatoes; 8 med carrots. used GF flour (King Arthur) approx 1 C; mixed with chicken/meat seasoning and garlic pepper - to taste - in a gallon plastic bag. Added the beef to coat; browned in olive oil. Added the beef broth (would increase amount to 2.5 C due to GF flour's high absorption tendency), minced garlic, paprika, Worcestershire sauce etc. to deglaze the pan beef was browned in. Cook for approx. 2-3 min. - or enough time to loosen/scrape up all the browned beef bits. Add to the crockpot and follow cooking times for either low or high temp cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Easy stew recipe! Tastes great, but the best thing about the recipe is the simplicity. Add the meat, chop the vegetables and add the spices and the broth. No browning, sauteing, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This beats moms home cooked recipe! So much yummy flavor and the meat gets really flavorful and tender. The recipe as is or adding your own touch just makes it better. Buy extra ingredients because when it's gone you'll wish there's more. Simple too all you have to do is chop and throw in and forget till it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karly Potter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 2,366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States