Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Very tasty but eliminate the tomato paste as it was a bit too tomatoey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This stew is just ok...don't think I would make it again bc I have another recipe that is much better. Thought I would try this one since it doesn't have many ingendents. Easy to make and taste fine but no big wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Added 1/2 tsp of salt. Forgot to add the tomato paste the first time & it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I used this recipe yesterday, as it is written (I always start by using the recipe as the author wrote it)...It came out bland and watery. I feel like it needs something to thicken it and needs a lot more flavor, the Thyme alone isn’t enough. I may try this again using the suggestions of others (flour the beef - maybe season it too - use beef broth in place of the water and Italian Seasoning in place of the Thyme) or just buy a packet of "slow cooker stew seasoning" at the market (although I prefer to use natural ingredients and spice things myself)...sorry, as is, this recipe is not what I'm looking for in a stew :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This is a keeper, my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Love this stew. I make the stew a bit thicker by mixing flour with water then putting it in the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I was disappointed in this. I looked at the reviews and I made the recipe as directed, with the following changes based on what people had suggested: added a can of beef stock instead of water, seared the meat beforehand so it wouldn't make the stew bloody, and used Italian seasoning. I cooked it for 9 hours on low. The result was way too runny, I only taste tomatoes like everyone else has commented on, and the meat was horribly overdone and chewy. Now I have a huge pot of stew that I don't like. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I just made this last night and both my husband and I enjoyed it! I listened to others suggestions to sub Italian seasonings for the thyme and it was perfect! I might try adding just a little red wine next time to add a little flavor, but overall great and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
With some tweaks this is a very tasty stew! I used 1 cup beef broth (not water), Italian seasoned diced tomatoes, and added veggies (beans, corn, peas, etc...). I also spiced it up with thyme (as in the recipe), Italian seasoning, parsley, garlic, Montreal steak spice, and 2 tsp Worchestershire sauce. Hubby approved! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Elizabeth O

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This is by far the worst recipemive made on allrecipes.com. My kids said it was the worst dinner I've ever made. it tasted like tomato paste covered food. Do not make this try ANY other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmakaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States