Slow Cooker Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Bobbie Chappell
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I cooked the round roast just like the recipe said but left out the veggies and steamed them. My husband like it more then I did. He said it almost is like a wanna be brisket. The next time I make it I will probably do just a couple dashes of the Worcestershire Sauce and more BBQ Sauce. I think that 1/2 cup of Worcestershire Sauce was just to strong and over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Chappell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
My husband and I loved this!! I cooked a 5 lb. angus beef roast in the crockpot. I seasoned it well with garlic and fresh pepper than cooked/browned all sides in a pan with olive oil. It cooked on low in the crockpot for 6 hrs with NO VEGES. My family loves mashed potatoes with roast. I used 1/2 c. of wistershire sauce, 1/2 c. Sweet Baby Ray's Original plus 1/2 c. water. The meat was tender, juicy, and full of flavor. It turned out delish!! I can't stop picking at the meat and dinner was over 2 hrs ago. Thanks for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Bernhardt Zigo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pedricktown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I had high hope for this recipe. It was definitely easy to make, but the flavors seemed to clash with each other. My husband thought it might taste better if the BBQ sauce was omitted and a packet of onion soup mix was used instead. I would maybe try that, but I also wonder if the variety of BBQ sauce used makes a difference in the end result. In my case, I used Sweet Baby Ray's Original. The meal was edible, but nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I loved the flavor of the meat!! However I have to agree with some of the other reviews that the veggies did not taste very well!! I will make it again minus the veggies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARRETTSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I really did not enjoy this at all. My husband did, however. We substituted soy sauce for Worcestershire sauce, but I don't think that was a huge difference. All of the veggies ended up tasting like the sauce, like they were drenched. The meat was fine, but I think the same level could be achieved with a different recipe that leaves the veggies tasting nice. I thought the sauce tasted best with the egg noodles I made to go with it, but that is the part my husband didn't like. I doubt we will be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Wow this is awesome and super simple. I made some modifications. I pan seared the meat first, used half a bottle of dark beer instead of worcestershire sauce, and omitted the celery. It was the best roast ever. Next time I'll add even more onions as they tasted like french onion soup onions, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
VERY Easy and super simple but it was delicious. I found the BBQ sauce and worcestershire sauce were a good combination and neither one overpowered the other. I made it over rice as suggested and made (haha boiled more like it!) fresh sweet corn on the cob, and it was a great compliment to the gravy from the bottom of the crock pot poured over rice. The roast was perfectly cooked. I was unsure what shpinky meant by "chopped" carrots and celery but I chopped them down to small bite sized peices about the size of half a penny. Enough so that they would still flow fairly easily out of the gravy boat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren & Mary Murray

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Very good! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Very tender and good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
So simple and easy used what I had and it turned out perfect My husband would have given it a ten!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States