Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I've been cooking pot roast for years. My recipe when I was working. Laughed at Chef's comment. Throwing everything in the slow cooker and let it cook, "well that just.. stupid." Though it always worked and was good, this recipe is delicious. It is more time consuming but worth every savory morsal. I didn't have fresh herbs so I used dried. Next time fresh just to see the difference. Use a chuck roast since the store didn't have any bone in. Everything remained as written. My friend said he could smell it from the garage. Made homemade Mashed Red Potatoes & the gravy was full of flavor. It's a keeper for sure. Thanks Chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Galgarrick
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I made it Sunday, it was delicious - very tender. I think searing is key. Served it over wide egg noodles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galgarrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Feliz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I love Roast Beef, my family loves Roast Beef I grew up eating home cooked Roast Beef 3-4 time every month sometimes even more often. I've eaten Roast Beef at many restaurants (I think you get the point I love a good roast). This is a fantastic Roast Beef recipe and even rivals my Granny's famous Roast Beef(we have over 50 people on that side of the family and they all love it). It is easy to prep and taste just fantastic. I love the added tomato paste and the chicken broth which he recommends. The juices of the meat add to the chicken flavor giving the gravy a lighter, but more dynamic flavor that is definitely worth a try. I do everything he recommend except I get what ever good quality chuck roast is available and it always comes out perfect. Good luck and enjoy. Thank You for the sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Very good, easy, good flavor. Used only 2.5 lb pot roast and had plenty of gravy left. Served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This is sooooo delicious and quick and easy to prep I would recommend this to everyone. My husband loves this dish the meat and everything combined is so tender and tasty. The one thing is if you're not a fan of the herbs all over your dish you might want to put them in a cheese cloth. Otherwise I made it as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
absolutely amazing! Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
So much better than pot roast recipes that call for mushroom soup, and packets of gravy, onion soup or italian dressing. The only changes I made was omitting the onion due to a sensitivity in the family and seasoned the roast with Emeril's Essence spice (Food Network.) I made a roux from the fat I skimmed. It made the most tender, flavourful roast and delicious gravy with a little kick. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Made this for Christmas dinner and it was a hit. I followed all directions then added 1 cup of red wine - poured it over the roast in the slow cooker before turning it on. Love this recipe and will be making it again for dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This recipe is fabulous. My husband,who up to this point was not a pot roast lover, requests it all the time. Usually I will tweak recipes to suit our tastes but this one needs none at all. So good to finally have a beef recipe that does not require red wine and heavy beef stock. The video is great also. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
AMAZING!! I have never tried a Chef John recipe that I didn't LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States