Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Ditto review of 3/16/12. The smaller boneless 2 lb roast worked fine for me and my husband. The flavors were terrific. Served with green beans and mashed potatoes on the coldest night we have had in GA in years. Had some nice leftovers. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This recipe was amazing, it was a big hit with all my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
It turned out good, but like some others, I didn't really taste the spices at all (me having to use salt and pepper after the meal is cooked....rare for me!); thus why I gave it three stars instead of 4 or 5. We followed the recipe almost to a T...we omitted the mushrooms out of personal preference, and added some sliced potatoes, because having a roast without slow cooked potatoes just didn't seem right. But thank you for the recipe anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
First thing I cooked in my slow cooker. I divided the recipe in half as my crock is quite small - maybe four quarts? Anyway, it's cooking now, but I think it's going to be delicious! Thanks Chef John! Loved your prep tips too! Cornelia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Let me begin by saying. I hated roasts..I had bad memories from childhood of these dried up roasts, and I vowed never to eat them again. However, we ended up buying part of a cow from the local fair, so, of course, some of the cuts of meats were roasts...O, no, what to do. Well, I stumbled upon this recipe and used a 7 bone roast with it. Wow, amazing. I did add more chicken broth to the crock pot. Now, I see that I should have added fresh herbs toward the end of cooking time, so I will adjust that for the next batch..Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was delicious! Will definitely make again, even without browning the roast first. The spice/ingredient combination is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This IS my new beef pot roast recipe! I think it's the juxtaposition between the beef and the chicken broth that makes the big difference. I've made this several times, get raves from all. Only thing I do differently is use Italian Seasoning dry herb mix in lieu of those specified, and omit the mushrooms--simply because I use what I have in my pantry/fridge at the time. I've added red wine to the last few versions, and it was delish! I added a couple potatoes to some versions to thicken it more. Mainly, I steam the potatoes and more carrots just before dinner, and add to pot roast just before serving. Great recipe! Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I was soo afraid and anxious that it will not taste good coz its my first time also to use a slow cooker, but my parents were amazed on how i made it! it was perfect! although i was not able to get the chance to get some herbs, but the beef... oh my! very soft and juicy... i've used this recipe for our christmas celebration and it's perfect with the creamy mash potatoes... :) thanks chef!! superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made it for my family for Christmas yesterday and everyone loved it! I used a five pound boneless rump roast because that was all that was available at the store and it still turned out great. Instead of chicken broth i used a can of french onion soup with some beef broth and since i didnt have tomato paste (turns out the one i had i thought was good had expired lol) i used ketchup. i also put a few more carrots and celary in because the family likes veggies. The carrots are melt in your mouth soft and it was a super easy recipe. Great for christmas when you dont want to run back and forth from the kitchen too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very good recipe. I used a 3lb. eye of round roast and cooked it for 3 hours, which was great for the roast, but not as flavorful as I would have hoped. Per other's suggestions, I turned the juices into gravy (adding flour), and served it over egg noodles with a side of mashed potatoes. Really good meal, but needed something more- maybe just salt and pepper. I'll try the recipe again and try to improve it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States