Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I loved this. I followed it to a tee with the exception of using a boneless 2 pound roast (I'm a one person family). I used the other ingredients at their original volumes though and it made an absolutely awesome mushroom gravy. I served it over egg noodles. The leftovers were even better! The house smelled amazing while it cooked. True comfort food and a keeper recipe. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
748 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpollardva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is almost identical to the recipe I have used to cook pot roast for quite some time except I do mine in the same Dutch Oven I use to sear the roast and then put into the oven at 250 degree for 4 hours or even longer. I do have 2 quibbles with his recipe however: 1) I normally use a 50/50 ratio of beef broth & dry red wine and 2) In those circumstances dried herbs will work at least as well and be far less expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
530 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. I didn't have time to brown the meat ahead of time, so I just put everything in the slow cooker for 10 hours and it tasted fabulous. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
426 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I'm a fairly proficient slow cooker user and have made many a pot roast in mine. I have to say this recipe went so far beyond my expectations as to be astounding. The true center of this recipe is the braising of the beef. I went beyond my usual Carmel color and went ahead to an almost blacked meat. The reward was some of the most beautiful sauce I've ever had in a pot roast. About 1/2 an hour before completion I added several quartered potatoes just because and the sauce made them the other star of this great meal. I've used several of your recipes over the past year or so but really wanted to provide comment on this one as one of your finest. Good old fashioned America cooking on steroids! Thanks for all you do Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAINBOWELP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Okay for the most part. "Pot Roast" is not a specific cut of meat, but with many cuts used (certainly the chuck roasts populr in the US) this is likely to come out overly fatty. The flour is not necessary- use a nonstick pan to brown the meat. If you want to use flour to thicken the liquid, it should be added near the end- long cooking will destroy most of it's thickening ability.. I have no idea what the food industry has against beef stock, but it's a better choice here (and many other places) than chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was the best recipe i have found so far. I have been trying for so long to make a tender roast and end up with something quite similar to a brick... In this recipe I put the crockpot on low instead and used chuck roast with a lot of marbling and it was amazing! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Someone mentioned about not tasting the fresh herbs. fresh herbs should be put in towards the end of the cooking time, otherwise they lose their intense flavor. Maybe more should be added towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Great dinner and leftovers make a great stew for later on. I make one addition. I add two tablespoons of Sweet Vermouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Great recipe, and the mushrooms/onions/garlic mixture on top of the meat is great; I used this as a basis for my crockpot pot roast today. The only things I did differently were to use beef broth instead of chicken broth (seems a better fit, reinforces the beef flavor), and deglazed the mushroom/onion mixture with 1 cup of red wine (scrape the bottom to get all the good bits, then simmer until the wine is reduced), and then used just one cup of beef broth. Nothing smells better than pot roast cooking all day long in your home! I posted the recipe and photos in my blog, www.culinaryspirits.wordpress.com .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was delicious, no need for gravy,the mushroom mixture really keeps the meat tender and very flavorful! My husband loves to serve with egg noodles and red cabbage. Reminded me of Sunday night family dinners when I was a kid only better, a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States