Slow Cooker Beef Barbacoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
THIS WAS AWESOME! I used tomato paste instead of sauce and I swapped the chile powder for 5 dried chipotle meco peppers that I had run through the food processor with the tomato paste. This tasted exactly like tacos from Chipotle Mexican Grill. I will make this again and again. Just fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Good recipe for slow cooker. The choice meat for Authentic barbacoa is not Beef Chuck. This sounds more like Chipotle type "barbacoa". For the true barbacoa taste you do need the meat that is contained in the head of the cow. Preferably a calf. This meat is tender naturally and juicy. The meat is slow cooked in a hole in the ground but since we all are not going to be digging a hole in our back yards we substitute the slow cooker. The meat is cooked by it's self. the ingredient you choose the add to the meat are only added after you put the meat in a corn tortillas or as us Tejanos do, on a flour tortilla warmed on a comal with little charred spots that lend to the taste of the taco. By the way, there is no real thing as a "chicken or shrimp" fajita. They are just taco with chicken and shrimp in them. But that info is for another story altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Tastes great, but after 7 hours the meat was not shred-able. So I cut it into small chunks, and ended up with something like fajitas. Next time, I'll marinate it overnight before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Very easy and very tasty. Great for parties. Set out tortillas and let your guests make street tacos. Friends kept talking about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Pogue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Though I prefer to take this a little spicier, this is my favorite recipe for beef barbacoa. It goes really well in my homemade taquitos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This was okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Very good, the longer you let cook the easier to shred beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was good using pork for burritos. Added some extra garlic, garlic salt, and some Frank's hot sauce. The kids liked it pretty well. We adding some rice and added lime juice after it was cooked. J thought some black beans with it would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This was easy to make, and turned out great! I served it at a family gathering, and received many compliments! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Selalgun
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Kids loved it. I spoiled in-laws too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States